Welcome Indie and Traditionally Published Author Lisa Mondello

Lisa and I go WAYYYY back. We met on the AOL romance writing boards (anyone remember those?) at LEAST a dozen years ago, when I got my first computer. We’ve kept in touch on and off but really reconnected lately now that we’re on Twitter, and now that we’re both self-publishing.

She’s also published with Love Inspired and Avalon, and doing very well with her self-published books. You can comment for a chance to try her for yourself!

1) What was the inspiration for this book?

The Knight and Maggie’s Baby didn’t really have an inspiration per se. I wrote the book 12 years ago just after Elton John was knighted by the Queen of England. So that started the idea of having a hero who was a modern day knight. Then taking the modern fairy tale one step further I paired him up with a very modest, working class coffee shop owner who was pregnant. No modern day Cinderella story would be complete without a dress and a ball, so I make sure there is one in the story as well. I love the romance in this story and love the characters who’ve shaped their lives.

2) What’s next for you?

I’m always working on multiple projects so it’s hard to pin me down to just one thing. I am releasing the BOX SET for the Fate with a Helping Hand series which includes 3 books, All I Want for Christmas is You, The Marriage Contract and The Knight and Maggie’s Baby. It should be showing up on Amazon any time now. It’ll be discounted so people who’ve already purchased one book will still get a deal by buying the BOX SET. In a few weeks I will also be releasing my TEXAS HEARTS e-book series which includes Her Heart for the Asking, His Heart for the Trusting and The More I See.

3) When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

That’s easy. I waste…ur…spend a great deal of time listening to music. All kinds. I have been known to feign writers block and spend an entire day just listen to music. It used to be more fun with albums (I can’t believe I’m dating myself) because some album art is so cool (Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy! Amazing!) and I could sit with album covers scattered out around me, reading liner notes and lyrics, which I love doing. Sounds exciting doesn’t it? LOL To me it’s relaxing and fun.

4) How many books in your TBR pile?

Do I really have to count? All I can say is that I don’t have enough room for all the books I have. They’re in boxes, cabinets, bookshelves, bags and stacked in corners. Now that I have both a Kobo and Nook Color, I very rarely read a paperback book, so I fear I may be giving all these wonderful books away. (gasp) Or I’ll be neurotic and keep them all…just in case.

5) What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

I love watching movies. If I’m going to relax, it’s going to be watching a good movie. I have a soft spot for WWII period films and romantic comedy. But I also love getting into a real gritty suspense. I love Netflix because there’s always a great movie on!It was a natural progression for me to move from just writing novels, which I love, to also writing screenplays. I’m having a lot of fun with it and would love to see a story of mine come to life on the big screen!

6) Name 3 of your favorite things.

My family. Dunkin Donuts coffee. (I wouldn’t mind it if they opened a Dunkin Donuts in my front yard.) Fuzzy slipper socks. (My feet are always cold.) 1968 Convertible Camaro. Okay, that was more than 3, but I couldn’t leave the Camaro out.

7) Where can readers find you?

I’m on Twitter at @LisaMondello, on the web at http://www.lisamondello.blogspot.com, and email at LisaMondello@aol.com. I love hearing from readers!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Mondello
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 06:59:45

    Hey, all! Thanks for stopping by for a visit. I will be giving away a copy of THE KNIGHT AND MAGGIE’S BABY to one reader. So don’t be shy. Join the conversation. Tell me about YOUR guilty pleasure and your favorite things!

    Reply

  2. norahwilson
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:53:09

    Wow, Lisa, that was a blast from the past. I can remember sitting around with all my albums spread out, listening and reading liner notes. And lol, my 23-y-o daughter, who has just started collecting vinyl, now does the same. I guess everything comes back into fashion eventually. Well, maybe not 8-track tapes!
    I so enjoyed learning more about you. I am also a huge fan of your covers. I think they’re incredibly classy.

    Reply

  3. Lisa Mondello
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:06:48

    Thank you for the compliment, Norah. I like those covers too. I’ve had a lot of great luck with the people I’ve used. I’m in the process of having my next set of covers done for my Texas Hearts series and it’s been so much fun putting it all together.

    i.e. 8 track tapes? Uh, no.

    Reply

  4. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 18:51:38

    I have Her Only Protector from Lisa’s Love inspired Suspense on my TBR pile. My favorite things are books, but I have too many. I love my kindle, but even that is getting out of control.

    Reply

  5. Lisa Mondello
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 19:21:45

    Hi Gayle. I loved writing Her Only Protector! It was so much fun. I love writing suspense and will be releasing another one later in the spring writing as LA Mondello called Material Witness, although it won’t be an inspirational. Yeah, I’m beginning to think that my ebooks are never going to have enough memory to hold all my books. Although my Nook Color does pretty good!

    Reply

  6. Mary Curry
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:32:01

    Hi Lisa,

    Yes, Mary. I remember those AOL boards. That’s where I met you and Lisa!

    Reply

  7. Kris McConville (@kmcconville)
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 10:05:13

    Hi Lisa,

    Waves from NY. I was agreeing with your three favorite things until I got to the Camaro. Wrong Chevy for me – my guilty pleasure would have to be a 1967 blue convertible Corvette!!

    Although I wasn’t into romance writing when the AOL boards were up – I’ll date myself too and acknowledge album covers and 8-track tapes.

    I can’t wait for those Texas Heart books to come out 🙂 In my TBR list is All I want for Christmas — I know it is a little bit past the season but that doesn’t mean books about Christmas can’t be read all year long right..

    I’m also looking forward to reading Material Witness – I love a good romantic suspense. You go girl!!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: What’s Happening on the Web? January 20 | Louise Behiel

Leave a comment