Character Inspiration for #TwoStepTemptation

Way back when I was writing Bluestone Song (yes, another country singer), I asked my husband for ideas for who I could listen to for inspiration. He mentioned Hayes Carll, who I found too twangy for Maddox, who I imagined as looking like Timothy Olyphant. The song my husband hooked me with, though, was “Another Like You,” ( a duet I actually got to sing with Hayes at Gruene Hall). I listened to his album KMAG YOYO almost daily on the way to work. I’ll share my soundtrack tomorrow, but after going to see Hayes again last February, I knew who the perfect hero for uptight Sage would be–a traveling, laid-back musician who’s come to play in her bar. I admit, I got a bit of a crush on Hayes, but as you can see, he’s not really romance hero material. A little too skinny, a little too shaggy.

IMG_4055

So I was watching Sleepy Hollow and along came Hawley. Yup, he’ll do JUST fine.

tumblr_inline_ngyruu9nwH1qgp297

As for Sage, well, I based her looks on someone I know, BUT the other night we were watching 12 Monkeys, and I was like, “HEY! She could play Sage!”

12-monkeys-Amanda-Schull-2

So there you have my visual and musical inspiration for Two Step Temptation, coming NEXT TUESDAY! Available for preorder from Amazon and iBooks!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Let People Know
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 21:02:30

    I’m extremely pleased to find this site. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this wonderful read!!

    I definitely appreciated every little bit of it and
    I have you saved to fav to see new things on your web site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

