RWA Recap Day #5

Friday at RWA I was still very energized. I knew it was going to be a long day, because HARLEQUIN PARTY, but I was still excited.

I started out the day volunteering at the workshop desk, and it turns out one of my Wet Noodle Posse pals, Sandy Blair was volunteering, too! So we had fun, though honestly, we had to ask the RWA people more questions than we could answer.

Trish and I went to lunch at Maria Mia’s, right outside the hotel, and it was good but we each got two HUGE tacos that we couldn’t eat! We should have shared a plate.

Then we split up. She went to the hybrid author workshop and I went to the sustainability workshop, which was a panel. Mostly it was about how to survive long-term, and a lot about balance and your personal life. I’d kind of wanted more career advice, like how to sustain your place on lists, etc. But I did get the message about off-loading tasks that you can’t/don’t want to do, and how you shouldn’t compare yourself to other authors, how you should manage your time.

Lisa Mondello (the mother of my cover artist!) had some good advice about changing keywords every 90 days or so to keep it fresh (I heard this two other places, so that was the FIRST thing I did.) She also takes out inexpensive ads and plays with her description and pricing.

After that I went to the Happy Endings workshop with the husbands of some of the Houston RWA chapter. I thought it would either be silly or more serious, so I was disappointed when it was neither.

Next was the iBooks workshop. I’d learned a lot in my one-on-one meeting. Free books do really well on iTunes, and lead to more sales. They will retweet you if you mention them in tweets, and help spread the word. You can set how long a book will be free, too.

After that workshop, I decided to go home and get ready for my FIRST HARLEQUIN PARTY! Honestly, I don’t remember the drive home. I came home, took a bath, then Fred came home early, which totally messed with my head. He talked me into going out to eat BEFORE I put on my dress (made me sad) so we went to our Thai place, then I came home and got dressed and he took me to the Westin hotel.

I was meeting Trish there, so Fred dropped me off and the first person I saw was Nora Roberts, having a smoke break with a bunch of ladies. I would never in a million years interrupt, though OMG, I wanted to! I wandered into the party, which was gorgeous, all red and white. I didn’t see anyone I knew, and ended up complimenting Heather Graham Pozzessere on her dress! I had no idea who she was, lol! Finally Trish came and saved me from myself! We got dancing socks (just realized, mine are still in the car!) for when our shoes started to hurt from dancing too much. I got a beer from the open bar, a Dos Equis dressed with sugar instead of salt, which was interesting and delicious. Then we started dancing and didn’t stop!

At one point, Trish and I were dancing and she grabbed me and another lady and said, “Mary, this is Molly.” It was Molly O’Keefe, who I was DYING to meet but had no idea what she looked like! I told her who I was and she hugged me because I always post on her Facebook because I’m a little stalkery. So cool.

I got to see Mary Curry, who was also enjoying her first Harlequin party, Tanya Michaels, Merrillee Whren, Toni Anderson, Elle James, Jolene Navarro, Teri Wilson, Trish Morey and Emily McKay. Was. A. Blast.

IMG_5673 IMG_5682 IMG_5684 IMG_5687 IMG_5688 IMG_5699 IMG_5702 IMG_5705 IMG_5710 IMG_5715

Then it was over, and Fred came to get me. We dropped Trish at the hotel and headed home. SO TIRED!

Leave a Reply

