RWA Recap Day #4

I realize I left you hanging on the RWA recaps. I’ve been crazy busy trying to implement all I’ve learned, and to try to finish my book before summer ends on Wednesday. I’ve hired a web designer and have asked for the rights back on some of my books and have been looking for covers….anyway.

Thursday at RWA.

I went to the Carina Press breakfast and it was…a press. I was about 10 minutes late and there was NO place to sit. Some nice people made space for me at one of those tall tables where you stand, but can you believe I don’t remember their names? They’re teachers, though, so we quickly found common ground! At one point Angela James stood at our table and I used the line I’d been using to start up conversations all summer. “How are you enjoying San Antonio?” Turns out, she wasn’t a fan, lol. But she talked about her daughter, who I feel I knew, since I’ve been reading Angela’s blog since it was called “Brianna’s Mommy.” So anyway, the crowd started thinning and I headed down the hall to Tanya Michaels’s workshop. Well, it turned out to be a crush, and I had a meeting about halfway through, so I gave my seat to someone and headed over to the Grand Hyatt for a meeting with iBooks.

Liliana Hart had arranged for the iBooks people to meet with the Club Indie people who were going to National. I was nervous, because I wasn’t sure what to say, but I’m SO GLAD I went. When I sat down, I told him, “I’m not sure what to say,” and he said, “That’s okay, I’ll do the talking.” I learned so MUCH in that half hour!! I know how to do banners and buttons now, and I have the ability to have a preorder without having any content.

After the meeting, I danced back to the Marriott, where I met Trish and we went into the luncheon together. She was awarded the Emma Merritt Service Award, which is a BIG DEAL. We got to sit up front with the other award winners, and it was super nice.

Afterwards, we went to our first workshop, on ACX and Audible. Yeah, I totally want to do another audiobook once I have some money in the bank! We got a code for a free audiobook, but I haven’t decided whether to get the next Sookie Stackhouse or the second Outlander book. I’ve read Dragonfly, but not the next Sookie, but Dragonfly is $41 and Sookie is $24 regularly. I have a few more days to decide.

Then I went to the Nook mixer, which was packed, and I met someone from one of the indie loops. I thanked her for all her helpful posts. I thought it was odd, though, that no actual people from Nook were at the mixer, and since I was by myself, I left and went to the other hotel for the Nook Press Focus workshop.

I learned that they’re very interested to know if you’re going to have a BookBub ad, a new release, any kind of sale. They want you to list all books in the series in the product description (need to do that!) They’re not ready to have books set to free, though they’re considering that, and preorders.

Afterwards, I was going to go to the AGM to meet up with Trish, but I saw Linda Carroll-Bradd and she invited me to dinner. I hadn’t seen her in AGES so yes, I went with her and some of the other San Antonio Romance Authors. I kinda felt bad because Linda and I talked a blue streak and the other ladies barely got in a word edgewise!

After that, I met up with Trish to go to the Amazon party. We were supposed to RSVP and I did, but Trish got put on the waiting list, but she was a VIP at this conference, so we got in. It was a CRUSH. I had a drink, she got a soda, then we decided to forget it and went over to the food court so she could eat.

Who did we run into there but Brenda Chin? She was eating alone (and I hate to see that, though it doesn’t bother ME to do it) so we invited her to sit with us. She is super cool. She told us about her adventure vacations and her husband and her pets. She’s changed so many lives in the writing world, it was neat to end my day getting to know her!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. For Rent
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 07:53:26

    It is the besxt time to akе some plans for the
    future and it’s time to be Һappy. I’ve reɑd this pօst and
    if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.

    Perhaps you coulԀ write next articles referring
    to this article. I want to read even more things ɑboսt it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

