RWA Recap Part 2

Last Wednesday night was the RWA Literacy Signing, which is a book signing with about 500 authors. I’ve been to 5 of them, starting in 2001 when I met Nora Roberts for the first time. This year was the first time I got to sign.

I was CRAZY nervous. CRAZY. I packed and repacked and STILL forgot the basket of candy. I had to bring my own books in, and I wasn’t sure where to go, and I was hauling my books in one of those rolling carts. Oy. But I got into the room about 4:30, found my spot, set up my books. Angela James had written me a note to wish me luck and I burst into tears. Then she came by and I met her for the first time. I looked around the room for friends to see where everyone would be, then settled in next to Caroline Fyffe. She was so sweet and we commiserated about me forgetting the candy because we were STARVING.

Fred came down for moral support and had to get in the giant line to get in.

I sold 5 books, 2 to people I didn’t know, and had 5 people sign up for my newsletter. I was a little disappointed that no one I knew from town came, but I know it’s a pain to park downtown.

After the signing, Fred saved us a table down at the Italian place, and Trish, Tanya Michaels and three of their friends from North Carolina joined us. We were there a LONG time because the waiter didn’t bring our checks, but we talked a lot. I was wiped out when I got home, and I had my three longest days ahead of me!

IMG_5657 IMG_5663

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexa Verde
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 18:21:11

    Congratulations on the book signing, MJ! Sorry I missed the RWA conference – again – I’d have loved to come to your book signing!

    Reply

  2. quit smoking with electronic cigarettes
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 16:54:44

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

    Reply

  3. Muay Thai 2014
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 19:39:55

    Tremendous issues here. I am very satisfied
    to peer your article. Thanks so much and I am looking forward
    to touch you. Will you please drop me a
    mail?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

