RWA Recap Part I

 

I said I’d recap RWA later this week, and here it is Friday and I’m KINDA caught up! I learned so much, and between that and recovering from not enough sleep and working on the Boom Town book…well, I’ve MOSTLY recovered.

Trish came in the Saturday before RWA and we just hung out for the weekend. Monday morning we went down to the board meeting. Trish had been on the board in the past, and we were both interested in the decisions the board was having about redefining PAN and PRO. When we got to the hotel where the meeting was being held, we saw the board was in executive session, which meant we couldn’t go in. So we sat in the very nice lobby and talked, because you know, we’re good at that! Then we were invited in, the only general members there. Trish of course knew everyone, so we were welcomed. I was surprised at how many board members, and was super-impressed by how hard they worked, going around and around, looking at the problem from every possible angle. I was reminded of a circle, you know, with the 360 degree angles, with the fractions in between. Like 90.345 or something. Every. Possible. Angle.

We went to lunch with Terry McLaughlin, the president of RWA, who is one of the Wet Noodle Posse. We had a nice lunch in the hotel, then went back up for more PAN-PRO discussion. Did I mention, VERY thorough discussion?

I zoned out around 5, when they started discussing changes to the contest, and we left around 6:30, to meet my brother and Will for dinner. We had planned to have a party the Sunday after RWA, but Mike and Will were going out of town, and Trish wanted to see Mike. So we went out for Mexican food (the first of many many times) at Tito’s Restaurant, then to Liberty Bar for drinks and dessert.

Tuesday Trish wanted to go to the hotel early. Her roommate Tanya was there already, visiting with her college friend. When we got to the hotel, though, they were still asleep! Lol! We visited with them for a couple of hours, then went to the mall next door for lunch. The first RWA person I ran into was Delores Fossen, who had been a SARA when I joined RWA. I remember her first sale to Intrigue, and now she has over 50 books! It was nice to visit with her. Then Trish and I headed back to the hotel where we ran into Beth Patillo and Kim Law. We went to the bar and had a drink. Beth’s book Heavens to Betsy will be a a TV movie in October! We didn’t stay too long since Trish had to work the registration desk. I ran into Lorelle Marinello and Debra Holland and sat with them while they ate lunch, then Lorelle and I took a walk on the Riverwalk, then had a drink at the bar (this was not a good start, lol!) I registered somewhere in there…then we joined up with the other members of the Wet Noodle Posse and headed down to Rio Rio Cantina. (More Mexican food) I had a prickly pear margarita and a lot of fun visiting and catching up. Then Karen Potter, Priscilla Kissinger and I walked down to San Fernando Cathedral to watch the light display. It was just as stunning the second time. Mike and Will met us and walked us back to the hotel, and I drove them back to their car.

I was already tired on Wednesday, so I stayed home most of the day, until it was time to get ready for my FIRST LITERACY SIGNING. More on that tomorrow!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. barbaraphinney
    Aug 01, 2014 @ 11:30:00

    Wow, you ran into a lot of famous people. I hope you didn’t hurt them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

