Why Night Shift Makes Me Crazy

 

 

Is anyone watching Night Shift? It’s SUPPOSEDLY set in San Antonio, but is actually filmed in New Mexico. I presume the reason is because all the doctors are military, and we have a lot of bases in the city. But other than that, there is NOTHING about it that suggests San Antonio. The outside shots are not San Antonio. The ethnic balance is not San Antonio. There is no “flavor,” so that makes me wonder why they advertise it as a San Antonio show.

The main doctor TC goes to visit his brother’s grave, and the brother was KIA. So why is he not at a military cemetery?

Then there’s the medicine. I don’t have experience in that, but I do know that doctors can’t sedate someone to transfuse their blood. Nurses can’t stand by to let groomsmen shave a groom when he’s unconscious. 

And all the decisions are made spur of the moment–no deliberation. I understand it’s supposed to show that they have to make spur-of-the-moment decisions in the field, but not all of the doctors have military background.

I get that it’s about doctors who do whatever it takes to save lives. I get that. But it’s been three shows and someone has broken a pretty serious rule every time. ER used to do it, but the fallout would arc over several episodes. Each episode wouldn’t be another doctor trying to out-rule-break another!

Are you watching? What do you think?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 05:02:30

    I’ve recorded it but haven’t started watching yet, primarily because the main actress bugs me for no good reason. I was happy to see her leave Royal Pains. Now, after reading your review, I might not bother watching it at all!

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 08:02:15

    I’m just so disappointed. I wanted to like it. I LOVED Killer Women, which was also filmed in New Mexico,but which had enough Texas references to feel Texas. Fred just sits and makes fun of the doctors’ choices.

    Reply

  3. Leslie P Garcia
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 18:09:05

    Well, I’m not watching it, but given your review–wouldn’t want to, either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

