My Top Ten Books of 2013

This one was a tough one. I’d challenged myself to read 75 books this year, but since I wrote 6 novellas and 2 novels, I didn’t make that goal!

Thank goodness for Goodreads, though, so I can keep track of what I read and liked!

  1. Can’t Hurry Love by Molly O’Keefe–I was actually torn between this one and Crazy Thing Called Love. I totally glommed her books this year. Her writing is just so layered and wonderful
  2. Comes the Night by Norah Wilson–I don’t usually enjoy paranormal romance, but this young adult book about 3 girls at a boarding school who learn how to cast their spirits from their bodies was compelling and tense
  3. Out of the Night by Trish Milburn–Again, not usually a paranormal fan, but I LOVED this vampire book from my bestie.
  4. Cold Dish by Craig Johnson (Longmire)–I got so addicted to the show Longmire this year that I started reading the books. I liked the first two best.
  5. A Perfect Distraction by Anna Sugden–a debut romance by a friend, between a hockey player and a recent transplant from England who is struggling for custody of her daughter.
  6. Ride with Me by Ruthie Knox–a book recommended to me, different from any romance I’ve read, about two people riding bicycles across the US.
  7. Under the Sassafras by Hattie Mae–a debut book from ANOTHER friend, set in Louisiana. I read the original a few years ago, and was completely charmed once more. Looking forward to the sequel.
  8. A Better Father by Kris Fletcher–another debut book from ANOTHER friend! This one is set at a summer camp, a man struggling to be a father to his toddler, and the woman he’d left behind years ago.
  9. Unattainable by Leslie Garcia–ANOTHER debut from ANOTHER friend, set along the Rio Grande. I loved the guarded heroine and her house full of troubled teens.
  10. Ravishing the Heiress by Sherry Thomas–a richly detailed marriage-of-convenience story gone wrong. (but when do they go right?)
Leave a Reply

