My Top Ten Movies of the Year

Keep in mind, I’ve not gone to the theater since June or July. I don’t remember the last movie I saw–either Man of Steel or World War Z. We want to see Catching Fire and Desolation of Smaug and Walter Mitty. Maybe next week.

  1. Pacific Rim–good fun. And Charlie Hunnam. I didn’t expect to like this movie and loved it. Bought it for me and as a gift.
  2. White House Down–good fun. And Channing Tatum. I liked it better than Olympus Has Fallen. I think it was the humor. Own.
  3. World War Z–very tense, and other than the annoying daughters, I loved it. We thought about buying it but it was pretty intense. Maybe for a good price.
  4. Lincoln
  5. Perks of Being a Wallflower–LOVED. LOVED. Cried. LOVED. Own.
  6. Star Trek Into Darkness–Own.
  7. Rise of the Guardians
  8. Great Gatsby
  9. Warm Bodies
  10. Man of Steel–saw twice in the theaters. And Henry Cavill. Own.

What did you see? What did you love?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 14:06:45

    Of the ones on your list, I’ve only seen 3. I loved White House Down (bought for #2, so I can borrow it), really liked Star Trek (and own it), and was very unhappy with Man of Steel.

    I saw 19 movies in the theater this year, and I think the ones I enjoyed the most are Silver Linings Playbook (surprised how much I loved it), Iron Man 3 (own it), and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (bought the soundtrack).

    Reply

  2. MJ Fredrick
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 16:02:39

    You MUST see Pacific Rim. I did not think I’d like it and I loved it. I remember you being unhappy with MoS (the ending, right?) and loveing Silver Linings, which I did NOT like. We’re on our way to see Smaug now, finally. And I hope to catch Catching Fire next week.

    Reply

    • Natalie J. Damschroder
      Dec 27, 2013 @ 16:19:37

      I definitely want to see Pacific Rim (as well as WWZ and Perks).

      My main problem with MoS was the fighting and the lack of logic in the writing, which rendered the ending meaningless, but if you got me rolling, I could list a ton of things I didn’t like, and none of them are the same things other people didn’t like. LOL

      I forgot you didn’t like SLP. I was braced not to, because of the mental health and Philadelphia Eagles aspects.

      I think you’ll like both Smaug and CF. I liked CF a lot. It helped that it’s been a while since I read the book.

      Reply

  3. Patricia Preston
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 22:58:20

    Thor. Thor. Thor…..:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

