Jump-Starting a Book

I knew it would happen. I’ve been writing so many novellas, I’m having trouble committing to a book. I have started and set aside 2 related books because they really needed a lot more research than I’m able to do right now. Plus, they’re related stories and I want a stand-alone book to send to Carina so I can be an active author.

I’ve been working on this book for 3 weeks, and have less than 5000 words. Most of THOSE are notes about what will happen later in the story, which will be good, except that I have to get through the beginning first.

I had a great beginning, or so I thought, but it stalled. So I went to a second beginning. And back to the first, so I was toggling between them waiting to see which one took off.

So last night, I scrapped it all and opened a new document, with a new beginning, and changed the hero’s name. He was so hesitant before, maybe this will help.

I don’t remember EVER having this much trouble starting a book. Usually opening scenes are my favorites to write. I wonder if it’s just the wrong story to tell right now. But I think it’s the right one for Carina.

Have you ever had trouble starting? What did you do to get past it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kris fletcher
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 09:09:54

    I hate, loathe, and despise writing beginnings. Endings, too. I LOVE the middle.

    Since you have lots of notes on what comes later, why not write some of those parts? Maybe that will help you see what you need for the beginning. Or maybe that’s where things really should be starting ….

    Reply

  2. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 09:30:34

    I’m having trouble starting one right now. Well, not *now* now because…deadlines. But I did the same thing. Trashed what I had originally, started over, trashed that. I’m pretty lost about where it needs to go. I’m going to try using Jeannie Reusch’s WIP notebook and bought a sketch pad for mindmapping. I NEVER do that stuff but figure maybe I need a new process for this book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

