Soap Operas

 

Because I’m obsessed, I’ve been watching old episodes of As the World Turns on youtube. They don’t have all of them, just what seem to be pivotal plot points, like a serial killer taken down or a bride left at the altar for her sister.

I’ve forgotten how much I LOVE SOAP OPERAS. Now, I don’t know why. They’re not brilliant, and story lines drag and actors come and go, but I LOVE them. When I was a little girl, my mom watched ATWT and Guiding Light, and let me watch with her. I loved the music, I loved the romance, I loved watching with my mom.

When my grandmother retired and moved out to the country, then fell and broke her hip, she started watching Days of Our Lives. I was in high school and started watching, too, and we’d write letters to each other discussing the characters like they were members of our own families. I don’t remember if I recorded the shows or not, or if she kept me up, but I know for a while, we were even getting Soap Opera Digest, we were so hooked. We liked Another World, too, but it wasn’t as wild as DOOL.

When Fred and I were dating, we’d watch Santa Barbara together, sometimes in person, but most of the time on the phone. Cruz and Eden’s theme song “I Believe in You and Me” was our wedding song. I think I saw Every Episode of Santa Barbara. Mason and Mary were my favorite couple, but I wanted to be Eden.

When I was in college, I had a break in classes at 11 AM, which is what time All My Children was shown.  So I’d eat my lunch in the TV room and watch All My Children, then dash out to my noon class.

My All My Children love continued when I started having summer breaks. All My Children came on at lunch time, so I’d put it on while I was eating. It became a sanity saver when I was writing. I’d write in the morning, take an AMC lunch-and-sewing-break, then take my nap. If I went to go get lunch, I’d race back to be home by 11.

Now I understand they show AMC online. Once I get through these ATWT episodes (or get over my obsession) I’m going to go back to that show.

Do you watch soaps? Do you know why? I wish I knew why. They help me relax and make me happy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie J. Damschroder
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 14:37:35

    I don’t watch soaps now. I never watched “soaps,” but I did watch A soap, Guiding Light, when I was younger because the babysitter watched it. I remember coming back to it in high school after not watching it for many months, maybe even a year, and being amazed that nothing had changed and I could follow it just as easily as if I’d never missed it. LOL

    Soaps have launched some of my favorite actors, so I’ll always have an affection for them. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mary Curry
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 17:05:17

    My mother and grandmother watched the NBC soaps – Another World and Days of Our Lives and way back, The Doctors).

    When I was in college I discovered Ryan’s Hope. I was so sad when that went off the air, but then I got hooked on Santa Barbara. I may have wanted to be Eden but I had the worst crush on Mason. Yup, I was going to help him. 😉

    Reply

  3. Michele Sayre
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 18:45:23

    I was a soap addict for years. Started with General Hospital when I was really young (my babysitter let me watch it while the other kids napped- watched Luke and Laura’s wedding). Then I got hooked on Days of Our Lives (Steve and Kayla’s wedding!), then All My Children, One Life to Live (when Nathan Fillion was on playing a priest!), Guiding Light, Another World (first time I saw Julian McMahon was when he pulled himself out of a swimming pool- incredibly hot and sexy), and one called Passions that had a gorgeous British guy and a runaway bride as the main couple. I hated soaps when they broke up my favorite couples because it felt so contrived. I wanted to see what happened after the happily-ever-after and I always thought it would be cool to see these couples not only live the day-to-day but also have adventures together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

