Get Fit–Can I Do It?

Soooooo…..since the boy’s been home, he’s been exercising a lot. He’s decided he wants to run a marathon in February, so he’s been running every night (AFTER he broke my exercise bike). He’s been nagging us about our eating, too. We were going out to eat quite a bit, and I like to cook with cheese and creamy things. We’d stolen the nickname my stepbrother gave my dad’s dog–The Fun Police.

But I have decided that I don’t like how I look in my clothes. None of my shirts fit right (which is already a problem because I’m tall) so I keep wearing the same ones over and over again. So since I’m home the rest of the summer (no more vacations) I decided to start walking in the mornings again, eat home, cut back on going out to eat and be more conscious of what I’m cooking.

I’ve forgotten what a great neighborhood I have for walking. Wide streets, lots of shade, no dogs running around, plenty of pretty houses and yards to look at. I don’t listen to anything when I walk, though I take my phone, because I want to hear the sounds of the neighborhood.

Somebody on Plot Monkeys mentioned an app called MyFitnessPal, so I downloaded it. It’s a calorie counter, essentially. You put in your goal weight, your lifestyle, your height and weight, etc. The COOL thing, when you exercise, you get calories back to use! So, this morning I had breakfast (220 calories), grapes (99 calories) and walked 2.5 miles (308 calories burned.) So I’ve only used 11 calories! (I don’t get that many, because right now my lifestyle is sedentary, since I spend so much time writing, but when I go back to work, I’ll get a few more calories.)

My pedometer is messed up (something to do with my stride, I think, I need to get out the instructions) so I used MapMyWalk to figure out the distance of my route.

Another website I’m using is a Walking Calorie Calculator. This tells me how many calories I burn depending on my distance and speed.

Now, yesterday I went 200 calories over my recommended amount, but today I will be better. There is no chocolate in the house, for one. No chips. Dinner will be leaner. My one indulgence will be the strawberry limeade I made.

Wish me luck, and keep me honest!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Black
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 10:35:31

    I use Endomondo on my smart phone. It tracks the distance and the calorie and saves a map of my walks. It will also post to FB if I want to share (I have set the maps of my walks to “private”). It’s a great app.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

