It Is Clear–I Do Not Know How To Relax

Spring Break is over (just the weekend to go) and I had one good nap. Maybe two.

Last Friday night we went to our favorite restaurant and I fell and sprained my ankle even BEFORE I had anything to drink. So Saturday we did NOTHING so I could stay on the couch and feel my foot throb. Turns out I’m not really good at sitting on the couch. There’s always something else I want to be doing, like cleaning the closet (no, really!) Anyway, I may have had a good nap that day but I don’t actually remember.

Sunday we did our usual errands, but way later than usual. Maybe I had a good nap. That’s the day I cut out my dress and skirt while waiting for Fred to wake up.

Monday I stayed home, except for a quick trip to Goodwill and McD’s. I finished my novella that day, made a good dinner, dessert and a strawberry lemonade. I had a good nap that day but when I woke up, Trish had called to tell me her mom had died. There’s nothing like having your best friend in another state and being perfectly helpless when that happens.

Tuesday I stayed home, too, but wasn’t as productive as Monday, rereading my post-apoc so I could jump in with the revisions, and couldn’t relax to take my nap. I knew Trish was waiting for her sister, was driving to Kentucky, was dreading going into her mom’s apartment. Couldn’t relax. Finished my dress, though.

Wednesday Mom and I went to Seguin and didn’t get back until 3, and me with a ton of plants. So I assigned them pots and tried to take a nap, but too late. I finished my skirt, though.

Thursday Mom, BB and I went to Fredericksburg and got home at almost 5! No nap, but I did take a mojito out on the back porch and vegged for a long time.

Friday was meant to be a relaxing day. Except the neighbors had tree trimmers, and I had the brilliant idea of getting them to come by here after they were done. That was at 10:30. At 3, they drove out of the alley, which is where the trees I wanted trimmed were, so I figured they forgot, and went to take a nap and of course I couldn’t relax. He came by around 5:30 for an estimate and will be back Tuesday. But I wasted my whole last day of Spring Break waiting for him. I wrote, too, of course, and cut out another dress, but it wasn’t the relaxing day I envisioned.

Tomorrow I’m going back to Fredericksburg to pick up a picture I wanted but didn’t buy because I didn’t want to carry it around with me. CRAZY.

Do you know how to relax? Because I don’t think I’ll have another shot until May!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Domestic Abbey Jo
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 23:20:33

    Mar, please give Trish a hug from me. I am so sorry for her loss. Hugs to you and your poor ankle, too. Love you.

    Reply

  2. kris
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 06:02:49

    Why am I so NOT surprised to read that you and relaxation are not intimately acquainted?

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 08:29:18

    Honestly, I WANT to. I want to know how. But I’m already all wound up for Monday 😦

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 08:29:28

    Jo, I will.

    Reply

  5. Sherrinda Williams Ketchersid
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 09:31:41

    I am so incredibly sad that Spring Break is almost over. I’ve had a great week! I’ve done some DIY redos, spent some time with my husband’s family who were in town, read, watched movies, organized a budget (bleh…but it is productive!), and took a few naps!

    I love Fredricksburg! I couple of years ago, my husband and I stayed in a converted barn. It was so nice! We enjoyed the shopping and the relaxing.

    Here’s to getting another nap in before Monday! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

