The Movie I’m Telling Everyone To Watch

Last summer or fall, I don’t remember when, my son came home from the movies raving about the writing, the acting and the soundtrack “Best use of ‘Heroes’ in a movie, ever.”

So when the movie came out on DVD last week I watched it. And watched it again.

The tension! The acting! The story! Oh, yes, and the music! My text to the boy: “Best use of ‘Come On, Eileen’ in a movie, ever.”

The movie? Perks of Being a Wallflower. It was absolutely wonderful, the story of a freshman who goes to school but finds himself isolated from everyone because of something that happened the previous year. He takes a chance and finds a wonderful friendship with two seniors, naturally falling in love with Emma Watson (who was terrific).

I texted Josh because it was hard to place the time period based on the music and fashion. It’s not set today. He said early 90s, but it seemed like an 80s setting. You tell me what you think.

There’s language and situations, so it’s not for everyone, but I watched it twice and loved it even better the second time. And bought the soundtrack.

Have you seen it? What did you think?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Black
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 09:41:05

    I absolutely adore that movie. I’ve seen it at least four times and I now have the book. Did you know that the guy who wrote the book also adapted it for film and directed the movie? According to the book it takes place in 1991.

    I was so sad that it wasn’t nominated for *anything.* I thought it especially deserved an adapted screenplay nom. Glad you love it too.

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth Crisp / @crisplyspoken
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 14:50:32

    We took my girls to see it at the theatre. It was a terrific movie, not only for the acting and story, but also for the conversations it spawned. Since then, my oldest has read the book.

    I love the way the big secret is delayed almost to the end of the movie. It’s superb.

    Reply

  3. Leslie P Garcia
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 04:48:35

    Haven’t seen it yet, but haven’t heard a single negative comment about it.

    On another matter–why don’t all blogs let me use my WordPress login as easily as yours does! I try to comment on every blog I read–but half the time, it doesn’t go through! (Might have to do with using the same one, but still!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

