My Crazy Week

So, last week was crazy. I was sick last weekend, dragged myself to work Monday because the lady who cleans my house was going to be here Monday and I knew I wouldn’t get to rest anyway. I had to go Tuesday morning as well, because I was testing 5 kids with their end-of-the-semester core assessments. As soon as I was done, though, I came home, changed into my pjs, watched an episode of The Unusuals and went to bed. When I went back to school Wednesday, I felt better, but was stunned when Cindi walked in and told me congratulations. Then she told me I was finalist for Teacher of the Year at our campus.

To say I was stunned is an understatement.

There have been a LOT of changes in the district this year, and the teachers are under a tremendous amount of stress. Teachers who have never stayed late are staying late, coming early, working their BUTTS off.

I sit in my music classroom and I sing and play games and dance. I pretty much get to teach what I want, as long as I follow the standards. Right now we’re doing an Around the World unit. The kids are having fun, I’m having fun, so you see why I don’t feel like I deserve it.

The other teachers were going about with their conversations and I’m speechless. In 24 years of teaching, I’ve never even been nominated!

So, the rest of the day is kind of a blur, though I cast my vote for someone else and took a copy of the ballot for a keepsake, then texted everyone. I walk my last class down to the gym for dismissal, because the teacher who SHOULD be teacher of the year, Cindi’s husband, NEVER remembers to come get them. When I walk in the gym, everyone yells congratulations to me. The votes had been counted and I won.

CRAZY!

That night I had 2 hours of paperwork to do to apply to be DISTRICT teacher of the year (a position I DO NOT WANT). But I had to address my teaching style and my leadership style (sheep, if you’re curious). Then Fred took me out to celebrate.

The next day after I tested, I had to go to main office and turn in the paperwork. The PIO and I have known each other for years (24 years in the same district) and he hugged me and congratulated me. Then back to work as normal.

Baby brother took me out Friday night to celebrate and we had a blast.

As far as I know, no particular perks, like getting to wear jeans an extra day or anything like that. I feel this should be rectified, but who am I to mess with tradition? Lol!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherrinda Williams Ketchersid
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 08:07:57

    What??? No extra jeans day? In our district jeans days are sacred. I think you should get at least a week of them!!

    All kidding aside, congratulations! That is such an honor!!!

    Reply

  2. MJ
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 20:39:45

    Thanks so much, Sherrinda! I was so touched, though I don’t deserve it. They’re sacred at our school too. We can wear them Fridays, testing days, and SOME Mondays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

