Board Games

My family has decided we’re going to start having Game Night every month. We started this on Thanksgiving, when we played Pictionary and laughed so hard I was sore the next day.

We continued Saturday night. Mom made dinner, we all came over, ate, visited, and then played.

The first game was Encore. I’ve had this game for ages and used to play it with my students. You roll the dice, move to a color, select a card that has several color-coded words on it. You match the color and you have to sing a phrase from a song that has that word in it. Then the other team has to sing a song and you go back and forth, using sand timers to keep you honest, until you run out of songs. We played boys against the girls, and the boys won. Josh was really good at it and I was very proud of him for playing.

The second game was Imaginiff, which was a FUN game, but really hard to explain. Everyone has a color assigned to them, and you get 6 cards, numbered one to six. One person asks a question from the question cards about a person, like, “What 80s movie would Mary be?” Then it gives you 6 choices. I’m trying to remember what they were. I think it was:

1. Terminator
2. I don’t remember
3. Amadeus
4. Ferris Bueller
5. I don’t remember
6. On Golden Pond

So you put the number, face down, of the answer you think best fits. Then everyone turns their cards over at once. If people match me, they get to move their piece on the board, UNLESS more people give another answer and outnumber you. Anyway, it was fun.

Mike wants to get Cranium, and another we like is Mad Gabs. Mom wants to play Trivial Pursuit.

Do you play board games? Do you have some you think we should try?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barbaraphinney
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 08:17:38

    We play Bolt, a card game in which you play sequential cards starting with the 7 of spades. If you don’t have a card to play, you take the ‘bolt’. Points are added at the end of the hand, the bolt being worth 50. The aim is to get as few points as possible. Another fave is Apples to Apples, which is as annoying as it is fun! Pass the Ace is also a good game.

    Reply

  2. kris
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 09:17:34

    Encore sounds fabulous. Do you think it would work for long car rides?

    I’ve heard fun things about Quelf, which I just bought & plan to use over MLK weekend during a writing retreat with some friends.

    I would love to do more games. Hard to find ones that work for the whole family around here, given our age spread, but when we find one it’s always worth it.

    Reply

  3. Kelly Boyce
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 09:45:23

    My husband was talking over the holidays about instituting a game night. I think it’s a great idea.

    Reply

  4. MJ
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 10:21:10

    Barbara, those sound fun! Kris, yes, I think it would be a fun game. I used to play it with my students without the board, so all you really need is the cards. I know what you mean about the age spread. That’s why I’m worried about Trivial Pursuit, lol! I’ll look into Quelf. I bought Cranium for Mike’s birthday, so we’ll probably play that next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

