Christmas Traditions from My Childhood

1) Baking like a fiend for weeks. This year I did it in two days. That was not better, though really, just one mess.

2) Opening presents Christmas Eve–my grandfather was in charge of distracting us so Santa could arrive early. Was a bit confusing if we saw the news later and the reports that Santa was on his way.

3) Eating sandwiches on Christmas Eve, usually on red and green bread. And chips. And cookies. Oh, so many cookies.

4) Watching Christmas shows on TV trays while the grown-ups ate in the dining room.

5) Getting up early to go to Mass–we didn’t start going to Midnight Mass until I was a teenager, I think. Was long and crowded. Not so bad these days.

What are some of your traditions? I need to fulfill 2 of mine–watch Elf and Christmas Vacation today, since A Christmas Story will be on tomorrow.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barbaraphinney
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 09:52:47

    Ours were Christmas Crackers. We’d pulled them and we all had to wear the funny hat. Our Christmas began early Christmas morn, and our stocking was a huge pillowcase, in which everything went. We always had nuts, oranges, and British chocolate bars (courtesy of my grandmother in England) in them at the bottom. I didn’t know you had German heritage. Friends of ours have your traditions. I even had the privilege of ‘helping out’ on Christmas Eve when they popped out to visit friends. It was fun.

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 22:09:52

    Christmas crackers sound fun. I tried to explain those to my students. Yes, my grandmothers ancestors are from Alsace-Lorraine, so we have the German and the French 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

