Going to a Country Concert

Thursday night I went to see Luke Bryan and Jason Aldean. I LOVE Jason Aldean’s music. He’s like my muse. I listened to his albums almost every day last year on the way to school. So when tickets went on sale in May, I bought them as soon as I could.

We got to the arena to find women outnumbered men probably four to one. Almost all wore cowboy boots and/or rhinestones. And it seemed like EVERYONE wanted a shirt–lines were ten deep. Two Whataburgers cost double of what we would have paid outside of the arena.

I asked my husband as we sat at in the arena during the first act Thursday night if he ever thought he’d take me to a country concert. He looked at the girl singing a cover of Katy Perry and said he still didn’t think he had.

I ran to the bathroom after the first act (I don’t remember her name, but she only sang six songs) and stood in line for my t-shirt. I missed the first three Luke Bryan songs waiting because two women wanted to touch every shirt, apparently. I actually didn’t know any Luke Bryan songs, but BOY, did the girls in the crowd LOVE him. My ears rang for hours, not because of the music, but because of the screams. He did put on a good show, very energetic, all over the stage. He pulled a local guy up on stage during his “Shake It for Me” song, which was fun.

I realized I haven’t been to an arena concert since Josh was in 6th grade, when we went to go see Foo Fighters. And they are a FUN (if expensive) place to people-watch.

The woman in front of me was about 10 years younger than me, there with her husband, who sat the whole time. She was a Luke Bryan fan, because she knew the words and left halfway through Jason’s Aldean show.

There were two couples to our left. Apparently the guys were friends because they’d fist-bump a LOT, though they sat boy-girl-boy-girl. The one who was maybe a few years younger than us danced a lot, but the one who was a few years older just stood. Again, Luke Bryan fans. They enjoyed Jason, but not as much as Luke.

There were two men beside us who left to go get beer a LOT, and were gone for a long time. I think they were trying to pick up girls. I just thought it was odd that they spent all the money to be there and were hardly in their seats. (Though you could hear the music even in the bathroom!) They knew every word to Jason’s songs, though.

Finally Jason came on and I stopped watching people. He put on a really good show, but only played 2 songs from his new album and 2 from my favorite album, Wide Open. He also played 4 songs I didn’t know at all. His set was way more rock than I expected, and I wondered if he alters his set list based on his audience. (San Antonio is definitely more rock than anything else.)

He played for an hour and a half, which I thought was great. I didn’t pay attention to how long Luke played. About an hour, maybe. Afterwards, I asked Fred, who didn’t know either singer’s music, who he preferred, and he liked Luke’s set better, but he really liked that Jason brought his whole band forward for recognition at the end of the set.

So it was an awesome night, lots of fun. I just wish I hadn’t had to work a 12 hour day the next day, lol!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Curry
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 15:32:12

    Hey Mary. I love some of Luke Bryan’s music. I have a lot of it on my playlist for one of my books. Love this one – http://youtu.be/j5GVa1yWYZM The actor has fueled a few heroes.

    Been meaning to talk to you about Nashville. Have you been watching? I’m loving it!

    Reply

  2. mjfredrick
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 07:32:11

    I actually bought that song after the concert, that and “Country Girl.” I was wishing I’d used him more for Maddox. And yes, watching and loving Nashville! Fred hates it, though, probably because he’s a musician. Wondering what’s going to happen with the guitar player in the middle of Rayna and rats, the girl who was the cheerleader on Heroes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

