Six Songs

Stole this idea from Jaunty Quills.

1.) What was the first song you ever bought?

The first one I remember buying is Because the Night by Patti Smith. I remember because it was a 45 with a picture, and she was wearing an undershirt and no bra. I was sure Mom wouldn’t let me buy that, so I took a plain old record sleeve and swapped it out before I bought it.

2.) What song always gets you dancing?

So many! Lately it’s “It Ain’t What You Do” by Bananarama. Some commercial is playing it and I find myself singing it to myself and dancing around 😉

Also, “Keep the Car Running by Arcade Fire.

3.) What song takes you back to your childhood?

There was ALWAYS music in the house. We had a record player in the den and my mom had tons of records. I guess anything by Glen Campbell, in particular, though we listened to everything–Disney, Anne Murray, those KTEL records.

4.) What is your perfect love song?

The one we played at our wedding is “I Believe in You and Me,” by Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis Jr. Still love that song. Also, “In Your Eyes.”

5.) What song would you want at your funeral?

I know it’s about suicide, but “Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)” by Green Day.

6.)Time for the encore, one last song that makes you, you.

This is a hard question because music has been SO MUCH a part of my life, and my tastes have changed (though clearly I’m stuck in the past a LOT.) My mom listened to all kinds of music, and I was the first MTV generation. I married a musician, my son is a musician, I’m a music teacher. I have Glee, country, songs from Grey’s Anatomy, Arcade Fire, and songs from the 80s and 90s on my phone.

Maybe this one:

What songs define you?

Leave a Reply

