My Bedroom Redesign (It Sucks to be Crazy)

So after I bought my little bedside table the other day, my room has a very beach cottage-y feel to it. I decided I wanted to go whole-hog with that idea, and Saturday night after dinner, I had Fred take me to JoAnn’s because I had some ideas (Pinterest, of course.)

I bought four white picture frames (I took 3 back on Sunday, more on that later), an ocean-y fabric, muslin, some scrapbook paper, some tiny scissors, stuffing…I think that’s it.  It came out to $78, which I didn’t think was terrible considering what the frames cost ($55 for all 4).

I came home and traced a crab, sea turtle and sea horse on three different shades of blue scrapbook paper, then cut them out with the tiny scissors. I cut out rectangles of the ocean print and centered the silhouettes, and was just about the open the $10 frames when I remembered I had some black frames and white spray paint. What would the Junk Gypsies do? They would try it. If it didn’t work, I still had the $10 frames.

Well, it worked. I had to wait until Sunday morning to put them together, but these $1 frames I’d gotten years ago at the dollar store did the trick.

Then I cut out rectangles of muslin, ironed it onto freezer paper and ran it through the laser printer. If I’d been thinking, I would have downloaded the images, placed them in a document and would have been able to center the images. As it was, I had to play jigsaw puzzle to put them together. Then I added the seaside fabric to each end to make it a long pillow. I took the remaining fabric and wrapped it around so the muslin images were “framed” in the seaside fabric.

This was a LOT more work than I expected. Not only did the thread keep breaking, but I sewed one end of the pillow wrong and had to cut it and resew it after I’d stuffed the pillow which is a PITA. But it looks good all put together.

I bought this picture as a download from Etsy. I thought it was so pretty. Another spray-painted frame. BTW, I took the frames back and got $28 back, so the whole redesign was $50, including the $25 frame I bought for a picture I don’t have yet.

I already had sea glass and shells, and the containers and the crane. I just put them all in one place. This is an old entertainment center that I put in the bedroom and use to store quilts and books.

I also already had the decorative balls that look like sand, and the basket.

And I’d made the burlap pictures long ago, was going to make pillows out of them, but the bad thing about printing on your computer is you’re limited by size. But I had more frames, so…

 

 

I’m waiting to hear from an artist because I want a print of this picture called Southern Belle. I’ve loved it for a long time, and think it will be gorgeous in the room.

So, it sucks to be crazy but sometimes it comes together.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah N
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 07:06:57

    Wow! I’m impressed. It’s beautiful. You are so crafty! : )

    Reply

  2. norahwilson
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 08:07:02

    Oh, I love it, MJ. And amazing that you did it on that budget!

    Reply

  3. Roxy Boroughs
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 10:08:46

    Love the colors!

    Reply

  4. Jennifer shirk
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 06:39:33

    That looks great! You’re so creativet!!

    Reply

  5. JoAnn
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 22:19:03

    Mar, you are super cool.

    JoAnn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

