Goals for the Week of NOTHING

Okay, it will be a rough week because Josh’s girlfriend moved to Alaska yesterday to go to school. They’ve been together every day for almost a year, first as friends, then as a couple. He’s going to be lonely and heartbroken and I hope I can keep his spirits up. If you’re keeping track, last year about this time his last girlfriend broke up with him. So the challenge will be keeping him busy.

 

  1. Keep working on revisions–10 pages a day.
  2. Keep working on new novella, 2000 words a day
  3. Dentist appointment
  4. Day with Mom
  5. Judge 2 contest entries
  6. Go see Dark Knight Rises.
  7. Keep up the house. I had a lady and her daughter clean it yesterday. 6 hours and it looks fantastic.
  8. Do better about cooking. With Josh and Jolene out a lot this past week, I think I cooked twice.
  9. Keep up with exercising. I’ve also completely cut out snacking, which is just as big an accomplishment, IMO. Instead of snacking, I get on the bike.

Alas, I’m not going to add cutie pictures anymore after reading Roni Loren’s blog about how she got sued by a photographer for posting a picture. That makes me sad because A) I like looking for the pictures and B) I like tracking my progress by changing the pictures when I’m done with the book.I know some people are deleting their Pinterest boards, too, but I just….can’t. I feel like it’s okay to still use the cat pictures since they have a “share” button.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 11:03:14

    Sad about the cutie picture. I read Roni Loren’s post as well, and have been giving it some thought. I notice that images used in Wikipedia are creative commons and I quote”this file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0″, then goes on to state the sharing guidelines. I found a perfectly lovely picture of Nathan Fillion, which you should be able to share, and I am sure there are others.

    As far as Pinterest, many sites have a share to Pinterest button, it is personal photography and artwork that are questionable. I usually check to see where a link goes. Blogging with Amy has some great information about Copyright and Pinterest. http://bloggingwithamy.com/pinterest-legal/ .

    Reply

  2. Jo
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 19:32:32

    I read the post…and would definitely NOT want to be sued for cash for the sake of a picture post on FB or something. In the future, I will make sure my cover photo on FB is not open to this problem, as cover photos are always public. I no longer have a blog, so that is not an issue for me. I did deactivate my Pinterest, until Pinterest gets the matter crystal clear for their users. Obviously from Roni’s post, a take down request is NOT the end of it anymore.

    Reply

  3. Leslie P Garcia
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 23:39:38

    Hope you have a good week and that Josh manages to keep busy. When does he leave?

    Reply

  4. Jennifer shirk
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 06:34:54

    What? I hadn’t heard about Roni. That stinks.
    Good luck with your goals!!

    Reply

  5. mjfredrick
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 07:24:25

    Gayle, I took your advice and checked out Creative Commons! Great site! I was telling my friend who deleted most of her boards about the Pin It button, and I use that as much as possible, except when I’m on my phone. I think the big problem on Pinterest might be the celebrity photos.

    Jo, I can’t let go of Pinterest….I just can’t! It might be better for my writing, though.

    Leslie, he leaves in less than a month–August 24. He’s been working out and I’ve been sending him on errands and he went out with a friend the other night, so so far doing okay. Actually, Jolene is having a really hard time. She doesn’t know many people and there’s not much to do. She and Josh talk on the phone a lot.

    Thanks, Jennifer. I know, I know. I’d heard it was possible but never thought anyone would really act on it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

