Outlander the TV Series–Who Should Play Jamie Fraser?

Apparently they are making a TV series from the book series Outlander, which is one of my favorite books of all time. For those of you who haven’t read it, it’s the story of a British World War II nurse who goes to Scotland after the war with her husband and travels back in time, where she falls in love with a young Scottish warrior. (Jamie. Sigh.) It’s got politics, romance, heartbreak, and the series (as far as I’ve read. I don’t think I’ve read the last 2) lasts from just before Culloden to the American Revolution.

It’s going to be awesome, I hope, if they give it the same attention as they give Game of Thrones and True Blood, but the key for me will be…who is Jamie.

When I read the book 15 years ago, I had definite ideas that of course I can no longer remember. I think Sean Bean was tossed around a bit, and he would have been great. A few years back when I was watching Crusoe on NBC (something like 3 episodes before I’m wondering how long he can avoid being rescued by all these people who are showing up on the island) but I thought Philip Winchester would make a perfect Jamie. The thing is, Jamie is a red-headed, 23-year-old Scotsman, and Philip might be a bit old.

 

 

Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who plays Jamie on The Game of Thrones, would be good, too, but again too old.

 

 

So, any thoughts? Did you read the books? Did you love Jamie? Who should play Jamie? I’m sure they’ll get someone to play Claire, but that’s not as important to me 😛

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 10:18:13

    I can’t vote here. I tried to read Outlander, multiple times, and could never get into it. Makes me wonder what’s wrong with me, LOL

    Reply

  2. qrs
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 13:35:33

    The beginning of Outlander can be hard to get into. I tried a few times and couldn’t get into it also, and I have heard that from a few other people. Get it on CD, listen to 1/2 or all of the first one, then you will be hooked. My mom had it for a year and then when it hit her, she finished it in a weekend.

    Reply

  3. qrs
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 13:36:45

    Whoever plays Jamie is going to have to be a lot younger than any of us are fanticizing about right now.

    Reply

  4. Meadow
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 16:36:43

    Charlie Hunnam from Sons of Anarchy would be the PERFECT Jamie Fraser!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

