Most Memorable Books, MJ Edition

The other day, Celia Yeary wrote a post about the ten most memorable books she’s read. So I started thinking. I’ve been reading as long as I can remember, so…

10) Flood Friday by Lois Lenski. I bought an old edition of this book with my first royalty check. I read it many many times when in elementary school. I could walk to the library at that school and pull it off the shelf right now if they still have it.

9) The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Who could forget the way they’d have to weave the hay into braids to burn it when they were running out of wood?

8) Winds of War by Herman Wouk. LOVED this series about the family swept up in World War II. LOVED the series.

7) Salem’s Lot. I read it in middle school and it scared the HELL out of me. Best vampire book ever.

6) The Stand. I read it not long after Salem’s Lot and it terrified me. But I loved it.

5) Sophie’s Choice. I’ve read a lot of WW2 books, but this one I remember the most strongly.

4) Through a Glass Darkly by Karleen Koen. This is the book that I finished reading (something like 800 pages, tiny print) and turned back to the first page and started reading again.

3) Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. This is the one I’ve read more than once, but I do want to read the others.

2) Outlander. All together now: Jamie. Sigh!

1) Winter Roses by Anita Mills. God I love that book, the first romance I read about a hero who had some insecurities. I loved William of Dunashie. Wanted to name my son William, but Fred protested.

That was both easier and harder than I thought–I left off Dark Sunshine, about a girl with polio who tames a wild mustang, Summer of my German Soldier, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Hiding Place…Like I said, I’ve read a lot of books! What are yours?

Leave a Reply

