21 Years Ago Today

My one and only was born. I always tell him the story on his birthday, but last night I told it to myself, since he always complains about hearing it. I remember the labor, the panic when I was told I was going to have the c-section, the way I wouldn’t give him up that night, though I was so groggy. I remember Mom calling the room (I had a private room by pure coincidence) telling me she wouldn’t be coming that night, though she’d been there throughout the day. She had a tired two-year-old, see. I remember Fred left a lot to go smoke.

I remember everyone coming the next day to visit and I was just miserable. I remember the hospital gave us a steak dinner the night before we went home and I threw it all up.

I remember coming home to a house I’d cleaned to the last corner, putting Josh to bed and thinking, now what? And then he woke up in the middle of the night and I had used all the pre-mixed bottles the hospital had given us and had to mix formula myself and Josh was crying and I was crying and Fred was sleeping (yet we’ve made it 25 years).

I remember Mom didn’t have AC in her Taurus wagon so she and my grandmother couldn’t come visit and bring my baby brother and I MISSED them.

I remember getting a call from the curriculum department at school telling me that I NEEDED to come to this inservice and it was important and when I said I’d just had a baby they were so nice to me.

Okay, getting weepy. Here are pictures. I haven’t hooked up the scanner, so I took pictures of pictures, lol!

Gigi holding him when he was a day old.

My step-grandmother holding him when he was about a week. I love this picture.

NO idea. Winter, so 6 months? 7 months?

With Fred’s mom

Second birthday? Pretty sure. Maybe third. Honestly should write this stuff down. Definitely a birthday because I bought him that outfit.

 

kinder graduation

 

With his dad in Lost Maples. I think he was 8. Another of my favorite pictures.

He played football for 2 years in middle school.

Freshman year. Pretty sure his shirt says, “Needs More Cowbell.” He wore music-relatedt-shirts for 3 years straight after having to wear a uniform in middle school.

He got two associates degrees in May. Now, in about 6 weeks, he’s heading for UT.

Excuse me while I go bawl my eyes out.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 14:11:40

    Happy birthday to the boy! And congrats, MJ. You did great!

    Reply

  2. MJ Fredrick
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 23:54:23

    Aww, thanks, Lucy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

