Authors I Want to Read, and Authors Whose Series I’m Dreadfully Behind On

When I started reading romance, I didn’t have a TBR pile. I had a book. Then I’d buy another book when that one was done. Then I discovered the Used Book Store and the Internet, an evil combination. Then I discovered Paperback Swap, then Amazon, then Nook….

Between paperbacks and my Nook books and all the Amazon freebies I probably have 1000 books. And yet…

I’ll see an ad for a book by an author I’ve been meaning to read. Or an author I enjoy has come out with the next book in their series that I’m already four books behind on.

Series I’m behind on:

The Sookie Stackhouse books. I think the last one I read was the one where they’re in the pyramid shaped hotel. Actually I like listening to them because they have a good narrator, but I couldn’t settle down to listen to books on CD this year.

Cindy Gerard’s Black Ops. The last one I read was the girl who went to save her brother in Central America.

Robyn Carr’s Virgin River. The last one I read was the preacher. I have most of the others, but I bought them through Fictionwise and can’t UNLOCK them because I no longer have the credit card I used to buy them. Grrrr.

Jill Shalvis’s Lucky Harbor. I’ve read 2, there are 4 more, I think.

Nora’s Boonsboro books

Norah Wilson’s romantic suspense books

Trish Milburn’s Hill Country books (I know! And her being my bff and all!)

Debra Holland’s Montana series

Barbara Freethy’s Shadow Beach, the one with the angels

Joss Ware’s post-apoc books. I have the last 2 to read.

Books I’d love to read by authors I’ve never tried, but when?:

Jaci Burton’s sports heroes

Dee Davis

Maya Banks KGI books

Pamela Clare

Julie James

Victoria Dahl

Sarah Maclean (mostly because I love the titles–like Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake)

Roxanne St. Clair’s contemporary romance

Marie Force’s books

Wow, that makes me feel worse! And I’ve been reading a LOT this summer. What series do you need to catch up on? And what authors would you love to try that you haven’t yet?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryC
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 07:28:28

    I had to laugh reading this because I’m just as bad if not worse. But Saturday when I was in B&N I glanced at the cover story on RT about Lisa Jackson’s new book. I was so upset it won’t be out until August 7th. It’s not like U don’t have enough books to read to keep me until then.

    http://lisajackson.com/book.cfm?bookid=151

    The RT article was about how she started this story something like 12 years ago in a writing workshop led by Heather Graham.
    From B&N’s site:
    In Ava’s dreams, her son, Noah, looks just the way she remembers him: a sweet two-year-old in rolled-up jeans and a red sweatshirt. When Ava wakes, the agonizing truth hits her all over again. Noah went missing two years ago, and his body has never been found. Almost everyone, including Ava’s semi-estranged husband, Wyatt, assumes the boy drowned after falling off the dock near their Church Island home.
    Ava has spent most of the past two years in and out of Seattle mental institutions, shattered by grief and unable to recall the details of Noah’s disappearance. Now she’s back at Neptune’s Gate, the family estate she once intended to restore to its former grandeur. Slowly, her strength is returning. But as Ava’s mind comes back into focus, her suspicions grow. Despite their apparent concern, Ava can’t shake the feeling that her family, and her psychologist, know more than they’re saying. But are they really worried for her well-being — or anxious about what she might discover?

    Okay, MJ, don’t you want to read that now?

    Reply

  2. Mia Downing
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 07:51:14

    Mary C, you’re so mean. That book sounds awesome. I’ve been bouncing around authors, and someone gave me a bag of Lora Leigh books, so I’ve been doing those. I have a bunch of MJ’s I do need to read, too! I need a real Kindle and just not for PC.

    Reply

  3. MJ Fredrick
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 08:15:03

    Mary C, that book sounds CREEPY!!! I was going to say Lisa Jackson’s books freak me out but that’s Lisa Gardner. Never read Lisa J. Mia, I’ll keep a lookout for good Kindle prices!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

