Books I’d Recommend Before 50 Shades of Gray

I read 50 Shades of Gray this spring. Several of my teacher friends did as well, and devoured it. I….didn’t. I don’t know if the heroine was too young for me to relate to, or if I’ve been reading romance so long that it was nothing new, but the second book is sitting on my Nook and I’ve got TONS of books I’d rather read first.

This post is for Kammy, who also isn’t quite sure she likes it. These are books I would read before 50 Shades. (I’m going by my Goodreads list, btw).

The Lucky Harbor books by Jill Shalvis. Sexy but sweet, set in a small Oregon coastal town, about three sisters who are reuniting to open the inn their mother left them when she died. They fall for three best friends (stretching believability, but…) who are hot AND sweet.

Amazon Barnes and Noble

The Kowalski books by Shannon Stacey. Sexy but sweet, set in New England, about these hunky brothers who find love where they least expect it.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Tainted by Temptation, by Katy Madison, a gothic historical romance about a governess and her employer, very like Jane Eyre but more action 🙂

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook–steampunk romance at its very best. May be a little out-there but I LOVED LOVED LOVED it.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Coin Operated by Ginny Glass–a bit spicier than the others on my list but MOST excellent.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Agnes and the Hitman and Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Crusie.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

The Search by Nora Roberts, a romantic suspense featuring a woman who trains dogs for agility. Set in the PNW. LOVED.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Beyond the Night by Joss Ware, a post-apocalyptic romantic adventure, with a strong hero AND a strong heroine. Also, now only $1.99!

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Blue-Eyed Devil by Lisa Kleypas–a bossy hero, but a heroine who can stand up to him. Takes place in Houston, I think. It’s a sequel to Sugar Daddy, but better.

Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Okay, I’m tired of doing links now 🙂

 

To the Brink, by Cindy Gerard, a bodyguard book. It’s third in a series, but I think it stands alone.

 

Like werewolves? Blue Moon by Lori Handeland is awesome. I’ve read all but the last two books in the series, and I don’t usually like paranormal.

 

Anything by Karen Robards or Anita Mills or Karen Templeton or Virginia Kantra. (I see Virginia is re-releasing her older Silhouette Intimate Moments, many of which are on my keeper shelf.)

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

 

Almost Perfect by Julie Ortolon.

 

Virgin River by Robin Carr.

 

Dream a Little Dream and Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

 

Until the Dawn by Desiree Holt

 

Her Cowboy Lover by Ava Flynn

 

Wild Wild Widow by Emma Jay

 

There are countless, COUNTLESS more. So while I acknowledge the appeal of 50 Shades, I wasn’t drawn in like I was to these others.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellastreet
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 11:21:21

    Great post! I grabbed a couple of titles!

    Reply

  2. MaryC
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 19:57:42

    I just picked up Virginia’s new one today. The cover alone makes me feel like I’m on vacation. It’s fun to see her rereleasing the old ones too. Loved them the first time around.

    Happy reading.

    Reply

  3. Katy Madison (@KatyMadison)
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 13:49:01

    Cool! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

