Frustrated

Remember me? The disciplined one? I don’t know what’s happened to me. I wrote a short story the first two days of summer vacation and since then….less than 20,000 words! I signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo, even knowing I’d be going on 2 trips, and I just can’t focus. The story hasn’t pulled me in, and I’ve gone days–DAYS–without working on it. This is a story I’ve had plotted for over a year but didn’t have time to write. I’m wondering should I set it aside and work on a novella or something, but…that seems like quitting even if I intend to get back to it. And I need another book done. I don’t have anything coming out.

I’m trying to figure out what I’ve done this past year–2 Bluestone novels and 4 novellas. Not terrific, considering my job has become significantly less stressful this year.

I did a lot of sewing last year and still managed to write. I don’t know why I’m having trouble this year.

Who wants to give me a kick in the pants?

And how could I NOT be inspired?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marybethlee
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 21:51:24

    Have you done The Artist’s Way? I workshopped it last summer with a friend. It helped so much!

    Reply

  2. barbaraphinney
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 08:11:26

    MJ, we all have times like this. Hang in there. Sometimes life gets in the way as much as we hate it.So, boot, consider yourself kicked. No next time you blog, it better be to report success. Make a list, give yourself reasonable goals, and do not start one without finishing the other. And don’t forget to smile.

    Reply

  3. Trish Milburn
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 11:14:27

    I bet once your traveling is done, you’ll be able to concentrate more. But just in case, KICK! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

