This Summer Is Kicking My Butt

So, I haven’t written 14K words on the new story. I’ve written 5500. (I did write a short story that was 4400, so I’m not AS behind, and I’ve been revising the cowboy story, too, but…)

I cheated on the big project of kitchen drawers. I cleaned out a deep one that had all kinds of junk, including my son’s baby monitor (yes, the son who will be 21 next month) and the skinny one by the sink. We still have two junk drawers that are quite full, but they will have to wait. I have 13 drawers–2 cooking utensils, 2 kitchen linens, 1 kitchen supplies (sponges and such), 2 junk, 1 barbecue drawer, 1 eating utensils, 1 with flashlights and dust rags, now 1 with baking supplies, and 2 with stuff like trivets and tea lights. This may seem an odd question for someone who has lived in the same house for 13 years, but how do you organize your drawers?

My house is still a disaster. I can’t get the back room the way I want it until the husband and son move the TV cabinet to the bedroom (sans TV). Which means I can’t get the bedroom the way I want it, either. My kitchen and living room are a constant mess with coming in and out and leaving stuff around. The boy will be away the next week, which will cut down on that (and will also make dinners easier–vegetarian stuff is more time consuming). I want to work in the yard, too, and yesterday bought four new plants that I now need homes for. AND my friend Susan is coming for one of my old yellow couches, but it’s been sitting in the garage for almost a year and needs a good cleaning. I will do that tomorrow.

AND I’ve only done ONE Pinterest project–I painted my knife block. It was a lot more trouble than it was worth, let me tell you.

But today the husband is playing in Austin, so no cooking. I’m going to try for 3000 words a day for the next 6 days. That should bring me almost where I need to be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 10:22:05

    Even if you’re not getting done what you want to, MJ, you still stuff more into a day than just about anyone else I know. Good luck with the writing for the weekend!

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth Crisp / @crisplyspoken
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 14:21:20

    I spent all morning at a swim meet. Sweating. The fact that you know what is in those kitchen drawers impresses the crap out of me. My method is: open the drawer, sweep the contents of the counter into it, slam it shut before any crawling thing escapes. Hmmm. Wonder if I have a baby monitor in there somewhere?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

