Head Exploding, and 100th Birthday

So I’m on Pinterest this morning and pinning pictures of soldiers coming home to their loved ones or saying good-bye. So….I have a feeling I’m going to be writing a soldier story soon. I already have 2 books plotted in my next series. Maybe he’ll be my third. Or first. Who knows.

Meanwhile, I have a standalone and 3 novellas that I want to write and my new obsession is making bath bombs but I need small silicone ice cube trays and I can’t find them anywhere. Maybe Target. I need a vacation, then I’ll need a vacation from my vacation! You should see my house. DISASTER, especially with all the animals having to stay inside this week because of the weather.

ALSO, my son is graduating from the community college in a little over an hour, AND today would have been Gigi’s one-hundredth birthday. She’s been gone 8 years, but I think about her all the time. I wonder if she’d have enjoyed readers and what she’d think of my published books and how she stayed so skinny eating candy and drinking Cokes. She always loved to go to new restaurants, so every time I see a new place opening up, I think of her. And this was her favorite time of year–well, she loved fall, too–but spring, when the weather was nice and we were counting down to the end of the school year. See, she was a teacher too, and retired in 1980. Oh, and she would have loved all the crochet ideas on Pinterest. I bet she’d even have made me some.

So, happy 100th, Gigi!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    May 12, 2012 @ 08:54:14

    Gorgeous photo of Gigi in the white dress. My grandfather was a portrait photographer, so I have a thing for the style. And the dress. There’s inspiration in an image like that.

    Reply

  2. Lucy Francis
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:18:59

    Congrats to the boy on graduation! And I can’t believe it’s been eight years since Gigi passed. Wow. Love the photos of her.

    Reply

  3. marycurry
    May 12, 2012 @ 15:52:43

    Wow, I can see you in that top photo of Gigi. Happy 100th!

    Email me about the ice cube trays. I know I’ve seen silicone ones in a store here but I’m not sure if they’re exactly what you want. I can take a picture for you.

    Congrats on graduation! My baby graduates on the 31st. Still not sure is she/we are going.

    Reply

  4. Julia K. Moore
    May 15, 2012 @ 23:26:57

    Love that photo of Gigi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

