Introducing Indie Author Linda Andrews

Linda Andrews lives in Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, three children and a menagerie of domesticated animals. While she started writing a decade ago, she always used her stories to escape the redundancy of her day job as a scientist and never thought to actually combine her love of fiction and science. DOH! After that Homer Simpson moment, she allowed the two halves of her brain to talk to each other. The journeys she’s embarked on since then are dark, twisted and occasionally violent, but never predictable.

The Blurb: The extraterrestrials have landed and they’re human.
Rae Hemplewhite didn’t believe in aliens until a close encounter with out-of-this-world technology drags her into the extraterrestrial security program. Helping alien refugees adjust to life on Earth is difficult enough, but her first clients have a price on their heads. Plus, her new partner seems torn between the urge to kiss her or kill her.
And that’s the good news.
The bad news: Alliances are forming in deep space. If Rae doesn’t keep her witnesses alive long enough to transfer their top secret information to the right faction of humanity, Earth will become a battlefield.

  1. What was the inspiration for this book? My husband is a big conspiracy and UFO buff, so one summer we had watched maybe 20 hours of documentaries from Netflix about the topic. About 16 hours in, something just clicked in my brain. Actually two things did, but the first was the one I found characters for. It began with two small questions–What if aliens were really here on Earth and what if some of them were human? From that came Blue Maneuver.
  2. What’s next for you? Currently, I’m sprinting for the finish line on a paranormal romance centered around the magical town of Amores. It’s a Valentine’s Day story that features a heroine who is cursed to love too much and a man who doesn’t think he’s lovable. After that I’m going to finish destroying most of the world in the two Redaction sequels.
  3. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do? I love to play Solitaire, Spider Solitaire, read blogs, play Montezuma and answer emails.
  4. How many books in your TBR pile? 175 books. Fortunately, most of them are ebooks. For pleasure (pardon the pun) I read romance and mysteries. I also have my favorite urban fantasy writers and will pick up almost anything if it appeals to me at the time.
  5. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure? Going out to eat with my husband. All but one of my children are adults but I still feel guilty about going out to eat breakfast without them. Of course, my kids don’t wake up until after lunch so I shouldn’t feel guilty.
  6. Name 3 of your favorite things. Reading, sleeping and eating. Not in that particular order and never in equal amounts. I really, really like to sleep.
  7. Where can readers find you? My website is: http://www.lindaandrews.net My blog is http://lindaandrews.wordpress.com Twitter:  @LindaAndrews    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Linda-Andrews/252439334802200?ref=tn_tnmn

Be sure to comment for a chance to win a copy of her book!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynthia Woolf
    May 09, 2012 @ 06:28:28

    Great blog. My favorite meal is breakfast and I love to go out for it. Of course, my guilt about it is that I can fix it myself at home for less money. But seriously, there is something special about going out for breakfast. Good luck with your new books. Love them.

    Reply

  2. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    May 09, 2012 @ 07:11:20

    Loved these answers, Linda. And I share your 3 favorite things!
    Oh, and gorgeous cover on Blue Maneuver!

    Reply

  3. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:13:54

    Fabulous cover, and such an interesting idea.
    I love breakfast out as well, and it does feel like we are sneaking out on our child, when she is at school.

    Reply

  4. Vijaya Schartz
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:28:34

    Hey, Linda. Already have the books. I highly recommend Blue Maneuver. Good luck with the new ones.

    Reply

  5. Linda Andrews
    May 09, 2012 @ 14:39:45

    Breakfast is my favorite meal and while I’m with you Cindy, I love it best when someone else cooks it.
    Thank Norah and Gayle–I love my cover too. Carol Webb at Bella Media did it for me.
    HI Vijaya. Thanks for your nice words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

