The Nook Tablet

So, I got a Nook Tablet for my birthday. I was tempted by the Kindle Fire, but most of my purchases are on the Nook, so I thought I’d stay with it. There’s nothing wrong with my other Nook except that it’s e-ink and not illuminated. And I didn’t like the clicking buttons on the side.

So. Get the Nook, love it. Put my books on shelves, browse magazines (you can buy individual issues, not just subscriptions–fun!) Also, all the books I uploaded from Calibre and Adobe were all in the same place, unlike on my old Nook, where some were in My Documents.

Then I buy the Android chip to root it so I can also read Kindle books on it. THAT was a frustrating day, let me tell you. Finally I googled and found out the Nook has to be plugged in for it to see the chip (which was nearly impossible to get in, it was so tiny.) So. Android now. Kindle, some other ereader app, Angry Birds, etc. But my bookshelves are gone on the Nook app and there’s no way to browse magazines. But Kindle has a lot of free books and I can read them on something bigger than my phone.

Then I try reading a PDF in the other ereader app, Aldiko. No way to make the font bigger for the whole book–you have to manipulate each PAGE. What a PITA.

Just now the Nook wasn’t recognizing the WiFi in the house to download books from Amazon, so I restarted it. Guess what? It went back to just being a Nook. If I hadn’t spent the extra $35 on that Android chip, I’d just leave it like that. Also, the Android chip sucks the battery like damn. I read about 90 pages yesterday and did some searching and lost 40% of the battery.

So essentially the rooted Tablet is a bigger iPhone. The lesson? the tablet is pretty cool on its own. I wish I hadn’t spent the money on the chip, so I think I’ll read as many Kindle books as I care to, then reboot it as a Nook and keep it like that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 13:14:56

    What a pain. I have a Kindle. We have three Kindles, except one of them quit working this week. Six months out of warranty, the screen went out. I don’t have a lot of choice, but to buy another. It’s my oldest daughter’s, and she reads everything on it. That never happens with a print book, but it doesn’t take up the space in my house either. Trade offs.

    Reply

  2. marycurry
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 17:43:07

    Good luck with it, MJ. I feel sort of schizophrenic in my ereading. I have my iPad, iPod and my Simple Touch Nook (I traded the old nook up for that because I also hated the clicking buttons and this one has a touch screen). Since most of my reading is nook, I just keep the Kindle app on my iPad and iPod for those freebies or when I get Amazon gift cards.

    Reply

  3. mjfredrick
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 08:48:12

    Gah on the screen going out! Do you have the e-ink? One of the teachers has the Fire and her daughter, in 2nd grade, is always on it. Mary, I know just what you mean. Even having more than one app on a device makes me feel that way!

    Reply

  4. Elisabeth Crisp
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 08:59:11

    The Kindle we had trouble with was a Kindle keyboard. The Kindle forums had at least a dozen users with the same exact problem. Even the same portion of the screen. Oh well.

    Reply

  5. Jean
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 17:40:16

    I have the iPad and love it — can read Kindle, Nook, or iBooks as well as PDF etc. My mom wanted a Fire for Christmas, so we all got together to get one for her and another one for Dad (he’s a voracious reader). Except my adult niece was a little too convincing when she told Mom she wasn’t getting her Fire for Christmas, and since we wanted to surprise Dad, too, we hadn’t let him in on it, so he bought Mom a Fire. That meant at Christmas there was an extra Fire. The solution? They gave one to my 10 year old niece who reads voraciously. Additionally, with the web access, she doesn’t have to fight for computer time. Everyone was a winner all the way around.

    Your experience (and others’ experiences) with the Android being a PITA are some of the reasons I’ve never regretted getting the iPad (but I understand the cost considerations).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

