Introducing Indie Author Carolyn Hughey


Mary, thank you for inviting me here today to be your guest.  It’s always nice to connect with new readers and make new friends.
I’m traditionally published by Avalon Books under my real name, Carolyn Hughey, but have recently dipped my toes in the Indie arena and I’m loving it!

  1. What was the inspiration for this book?

The Last Witness is my first mystery and my first Indie publication that’s written under my pen name, K. T. Roberts. The theme of The Last Witness is based on a true story that I twisted into something quite original, and consists of many interesting twists and turns with a surprise ending you’ll never see coming.  I had fun writing this story for several reasons, one of which was the interaction I had with my sister, a former undercover detective working for the NYPA/NYPD who guided me through the proper procedures, and I learned a lot along the way about how the justice system works.  And the other reason is that I love reading and writing in the suspense/mystery genre.

When I come up with an idea, I always know the beginning and the end, and of course that middle is sort of left up in the air.  I plot out the story and begin the process.  And then, something happens along the way, maybe it’s a muse who’s whispering in my ear, or maybe it’s one of the characters complaining to me about the ending, which puts a kink in the original plot.  But in all honesty, I love surprising my readers with an unexpected ending.  If you’ve figured out how my story is going to end by the middle of the story, I think it takes all the fun out of it and becomes what I consider to be a boring read.  Of course, not everyone likes that originality.  A review of my first lighthearted contemporary was to the contrary.  The commenter loved the story, but she gave me 3 stars instead of her intended 5 stars because she didn’t like my version of the happily ever after. Obviously, I would have preferred the 5 stars, but I appreciated her honesty. 🙂


  1. What’s next for you?

K. T. is currently editing a contemporary with a little bit of spice, something that’s not part of Avalon’s rules.  It’s titled Magnetic Attraction and will be ready for sale by end of February, beginning of March.  And then my next novel will be Illusive Justice, Book 2 in my NYPD Detective series.  The tag line is:  What if a teddy bear belonging to a child who was kidnapped ten years earlier shows up on his parents doorstep?

  1. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

Take a day off and go to the mall.  And like your previous guest, I’m surfing the Internet checking on my sales ranking, what’s happening on Wattpad with my free read, Twitter . . . you get the idea.   Here’s the link to my free read: http://www.wattpad.com/3386362-the-last-witness-k-t-roberts  And after you read it, please leave me a comment.  I always love hearing from my readers.

4.How many books in your TBR pile?

Wow!  That’s a loaded question. Ack! Uh . . . I have 26 on my Kindle and six John Grisham books on the shelf.  There are lots more, but I’m too embarrassed to tell you. I’m a full-time writer who has to force myself to read after writing all day.  Recognizing how important it is to read, I’ve started a new regiment where I stop writing at 5:00 o’clock every day and read until I have to pull myself away to cook dinner.

  1. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

Chocolate has to be number one, but I’ve been known to enjoy massages, manicures and pedicures on a regular basis too.

  1. Name 3 of your favorite things.


Besides my husband and our children, chocolate, cooking/creating recipes, getting together with friends, and writing—not necessarily in that order, and I know that’s more than three, but I just can’t seem to shut up. 🙂

  1. Where can readers find you?

http://carolynhughey.com

http://carolyn-hughey.blogspot.com

https://twitter.com/#!/ScribBLINGDIVA

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1266948307

Please comment for a chance to win her book!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary W/A Cora Blu
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:34:52

    Nice post, Carolyn. Your book sounds interesting. I love that you put a twist on your endings. I love your cover and I hope you receive many sales under both names.

    Cora Blu

    Reply

  2. Guy Ogan
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 08:46:44

    I AGREE WITH YOU, CHOCOLATE IS THE GREATEST! BEST OF LUCK WITH YOUR BOOKS!

    Reply

  3. Rhonda Hopkins
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 13:01:33

    Great interview! Looking forward to reading your book, Carolyn. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Carolyn Hughey/K. T. Roberts
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 16:31:19

    Thanks Mary, Guy and Rhonda for your good wishes and for stopping by to say hello. I’d also love to hear what you think after reading my work!

    Reply

  5. Carolyn Hughey/K. T. Roberts
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 18:54:43

    Okay, since I can’t decide which one of you should receive the winning copy of The Last Witness, I’m offering a copy to each of you. Please contact me at my email addy and tell me what kind of eReader you own, and I’ll send the file right over. Again, thank you for stopping by, and MJ, thank you for asking me to be a guest on your blog. It’s been fun!

    Reply

  6. marymarvella
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:52:00

    Lovely blog, Carolyn. This book sounds lke a keeper!

    Reply

  7. Rhonda Hopkins
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 18:00:25

    Thank you Carolyn! That’s very generous. I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

