Introducing Golden Heart Winner and Indie Author Laurie Kellogg

Laurie Kellogg and I finalled in the Golden Heart together a couple of times, and I’ve always admired her ability to be consistently golden! Recently, she’s gone indie, and I’m here to introduce you to her!

What was the inspiration for this book?

All through high school, I wore a MIA/POW bracelet. When the prisoners returned during Operation Homecoming in ’73, I was heartbroken that ‘my soldier’ never made it back.  I’ve always wondered what it must have been like for those brave men to return home after so long—some were held captive and tortured for nearly NINE years. Those who were fathers were strangers to their children. Many came home to discover their wives and sweethearts had moved on into other relationships. I never forgot these heroic men, so when I began writing, I felt compelled to give a couple who’d sacrificed so much a happy-ever-after. This book, The Memory of You, was a two-time nominee and winner of the RWA® Golden Heart® award and a Romantic Times® American Title I finalist under another title.

What’s next for you?

I’m releasing my first Golden Heart winner A Little Bit of Déjà Vu, which incidentally beat The Memory of You for the GH when they were finalists together. I’ll also be publishing another of my Golden Heart finalists, which I renamed Hypnotic Seduction, under my name as L.L. Kellogg to differentiate it from my other books. My L.L. Kellogg books are red-hot romantic comedies that are “A Little Naughty and a Lot of Fun!” They don’t have the language and highly adventuresome love scenes found in erotic romances, however, they have more provocative plot lines and the focus on the heroes’ and heroine’s physical relationship bit more than the usual contemporary romance. They’re basically a racier single title romance with a Harlequin® Blaze heat level. What can I say? I like to write out of the box NY has established for romances. It’s why I’m an indie author.

When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

I cook and plan vacations. I love to feed people, and I’m a travel agent wannabe who has to write up an itinerary with all of the attractions, times, prices, restaurant recommendations, and reservation numbers. I like to know what we’ll be doing on any given day while we’re away so we don’t waste our vacation sitting around saying, “What do you want to do today?”

How many books in your TBR pile?

Way too many. Since publishing my first book, I’ve been lucky to find time to read a book a week. Therefore, I’m extremely selective about what I choose to read. If a book doesn’t allow me to turn off my internal editor (which I have a lot of trouble doing), I toss it aside and pick up the next from my TBR pile.

What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

Staying in my PJs all day and watching romantic movies. And if I really want to be bad, I add potato chips with homemade green onion and garlic dip.

Name 3 of your favorite things.

Romance books and movies

Going out to dinner with friends or family

Attending writers’ conferences to hang out with people who understand that just because I hear and talk to imaginary people doesn’t mean I’m crazy

Where can readers find you?

Readers can connect with me at http://twitter.com/#!/Laurie_Kellogg , http://www.LaurieKellogg.com , and http://Facebook.com/Laurie.Kellogg.Books

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynthia Woolf
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 07:24:18

    Great interview. Really nice to get to know you a little better.

    Reply

  2. Lucy Francis
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 08:26:25

    Laurie, I loved, loved, loved The Memory of You! Thanks for being here and letting us get to know you!

    Reply

  3. Lynda Bailey
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 08:54:46

    Laurie~

    Great interview. I’m soooo proud of you and your accomplishments. The Memory of You is next on my TBR list. Can’t wait to read it!

    Reply

  4. dianalayne
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 09:34:40

    Laurie! Will you write up my itinerary for when I drive to CA for the conference? I also want to take the long way home and drive up to Forks, Washington (huge Twilight mom fan here, don’t throw things at me, lol) before I head back to Texas! Great interview!

    Reply

  5. Laurie Kellogg
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:04:45

    LOL! Yeah, I’ll get right on that as soon as I release my next five books. 🙂 Lately, I’ve been working 17 hour days, Diana. I sit at my computer with my legs crossed doing the pee-pee dance in my chair for hours some days because I don’t want to waste a few precious moments using the bathroom.

    Reply

  6. Laurie Kellogg
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:06:48

    MJ, thank you so much for having me here today and for being one of the people who inspired me to take the plunge into Indie publishing.

    Reply

  7. Roxy Boroughs
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:33:20

    Laurie, you look so familiar. I’m thinking I must have seen you at a conference sometime.

    Reply

  8. Laurie Kellogg
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:50:52

    Thanks for stopping by, Roxy. If you attend the NJRW and National conferences, I’m sure you have. But you might also recognize me from all the Golden Heart announcements and from my appearance in Romantic Times magazine a few years back for the American Title contest. In fact, I haven’t gotten my June issue yet, but I understand there’s supposed to be a follow-up on the American Title contest in it featuring me.

    Reply

  9. Robin Kaye
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 09:06:45

    Hi Laurie~

    I loved The Memory of You and I’m going to get the next two on my kindle. I just wish I had more time to read.

    Good luck, girlfriend. May you have many sales!

    Hugs… Robin 🙂

    Reply

  10. Carol
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 10:06:10

    I’m reading The Memory of You now. Loving Matt and the story. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

