College Admission

So my son found out yesterday he got into UT Austin. He’s 20 and finishing up his associate’s degree at the community college. He’d applied to UT out of HS, but his grades weren’t enough, thanks to him slacking off freshman year. Yes, that counts. So he tried UTSA, didn’t care for it, went to San Antonio College and loved it. He’s worked on the paper the past 3 semesters, editor this semester, and that was enough to get the attention of UT when he applied again.

We’ve been a bit anxious, because others have heard who applied after him. He was accepted to UNT, and I was getting anxious that he’d be moving so far. (I KNOW. I was 20 when I married. He’ll be 21 this summer. Still.) So he called yesterday from school.

I got a phone call around 4:15 from him. He told me to hang on, then came back on the line and asked if we were both there. He’d called his dad, too, and put us on conference call to tell us. “I have some news,” he said, and I knew.

I’m elated for him, and terribly sad at the same time. My first impulse was to run to the store to buy everything with a UT logo (and there are a LOT, here in Texas.) But then…

I’ve known this time next year he wouldn’t be here. That at Christmas he’ll probably just come for the weekend and go back to college with his friends. He may even have a job. That this was probably our last spring break together. But damn, typing that has me all teary. My husband says this is what we work for, what we hope for from the moment he’s born, that he will grow up and be his own man. He’s always been independent, he isn’t around much these days, but it’s hard.

And part of me is a little jealous. I didn’t go away to school. I went to UTSA, lived at home until I married, never had that independence. I’m glad Josh is getting it–and I love my life, but I think I’d be a little tougher if I’d gone out on my own.

So I cried for a bit, then went out and bought some UT gear.

Mine:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

His:

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. krisme
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 07:09:04

    Oh, hon. Big hugs. You’re right, the hubby is right, it’s all good, and yet it’s so hard at the same time. Congratulations, and I’m wishing all of you an easy, joyful, meaningful transition to this next phase.

    Reply

  2. Leslie P Garcia
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 07:52:26

    Well, now I’m teary-eyed. There’s a Trace Adkins song, “And Then They Do,” that echos what Fred and you both feel–you want the best for them, but the best hurts. A happy hurt, but still. Congratulations on his success, and hugs on the parts that are painful.

    Reply

  3. Mary Curry
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 08:42:58

    I’m teary for you, MJ, but I’m laughing a little too. Both of mine went away and both came home again. Eldest went as far as Maine for 4 years,then lived on her own a year, then came home when she decided to do grad school in NYC. Youngest went away, hated it, came ho e to finish college here and will graduatein May. She has no idea what’s next.
    So this Christmas they were both here.

    Congrats to Josh. He’s worked so hard for this. And hugs to the proud mama and papa.

    Reply

  4. Elisabeth Crisp
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 08:48:09

    Congratulations to Josh! I understand your tears, but you’ve raised a kid, who appreciates home or he wouldn’t still be there. I would bet money that he will come home more than you think. Good job, Mom!

    Reply

  5. Lucy Francis
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 13:53:41

    Awww, MJ, I know how you feel. But I’m so happy for Josh! It’s been amazing watching his progress over the years, and I know he’ll do great at UT. Hang in there, dear friend. And Go ‘Horns!

    Reply

  6. Gina Black
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 17:44:58

    Congrats to Josh! And hugs for you. It’s hard to let go, but it’s worse when you don’t. I cried for a week when my daughter left home and she was just 15 minutes away at USC! So I was better prepared when the son went off to Europe on his own for 4 months when he was 18. He went off to college next, but came back and has been here for the last year going to a local community college. He’s what got me going back to school. I’ve been enjoying it so much and it’s partly the company and camaraderie. So anyway . . . he’s going off–again–in the fall (to finish the BA) and it’s gonna be hard. Hang in there. It is hard, but we can do it!

    Reply

  7. Marianne Arkins
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 04:34:01

    You made me cry — I’m dreading this same thing when my kidet is grown. Love the shirts! And at least he’s not TOO far. ((hugs))

    Reply

  8. NJDamschroder
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 19:36:32

    Congratulations to him!

    My oldest is looking at colleges now. I’m more worried that she’ll fart around with the whole process so long she’ll never get her applications out and then won’t ever leave. LOL

    Reply

  9. mjfredrick
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 21:18:13

    Thanks for all the words of encouragement, ladies. Mary and Gina, I wonder if he’ll come back–he’s in journalism, after all. But he doesn’t want to live in San Antonio, so…

    Natalie, the reason he’s going off at 20 is that he did fart around. He’s a terrible procrastinator like his father (our taxes were just finished Friday! Ack!). And he didn’t believe us when we said every year counted, even freshman year. But it’s worked out for the best, I’m sure. He’s got some maturity and some appreciation for hard work.

    Marianne, it’s rough when there’s only the one, I think. Still, I’m excited he’ll have this opportunity neither his dad or I had.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

