Introducing Indie Suspense Writer Donna Tunney!

Wow, look at that cover! Gorgeous! Donna and I also met on the Indie Romance group–great people, great information! This book just came out last month, and I’m DYING to read it!

Please comment for a chance to win a copy!

  1. What was the inspiration for this book?

Loss is something we all have to deal with in life. My hero, Sam Hutchinson, is devastated by the murder of his eleven-year-old son. Amy Tesher, the heroine, lost most of her childhood caring for an addicted parent.

But Amy is a survivor and has fabricated a new past for herself and her own daughter, Renee. Unfortunately, the lies Amy tells to keep her secrets conflict with Sam’s need to get to the truth behind his son’s death. That and the fact Renee is able to communicate with the boy’s ghost.

Throw in a serial killer who’s stalking them all, and you’ve got the basic ingredients for my novella, A Stranger’s Kiss, part of the Bandit Creek Books series.

2. What’s next for you?

I’m releasing a prequel to this story called A Stranger’s Touch. The hero and heroine of that tale team up to find her abducted child. That novel also has a touch of the paranormal—a ghost and a psychic.

3. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

Anything but housework. My husband and I love to take off to the mountains. We enjoy the scenery, have lunch, nose around bookshops—it’s the perfect date day for us.

I also spend a ridiculous amount of time on the phone. I talk to my eighty-eight-year-old mother twice a day. And if my girlfriend calls, that’s easily an hour gone. Add emails, Facebook, and Twitter in and it’s surprising I get anything done at all.

4. OMG, I hardly EVER talk on the phone! I cannot even imagine 🙂 How many books in your TBR pile?

Hundreds! Next up is a book my husband gave me for Christmas, Touch by Alexi Zentner. And I can’t wait for the new J. R. Ward book, Lover Reborn.

5. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

I gave up guilt long ago. But cheese is definitely my naughty vice.

6. LOVE that attitude. So this next question shouldn’t be hard! Name 3 of your favorite things.

A lovely meal, a glass of wine, and an evening curled up with my husband, watching a movie or reading a book.

7. Where can readers find you?

On Twitter, Facebook, and at my Website. There’s also my Author Pages at Amazon and Smashwords.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cynthia Woolf
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 06:51:11

    Great interview and love all of the covers on the page Roxy’s and MJ’s. They are wonderful.

    Reply

  2. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 07:04:50

    Wow, I loved this interview! Great to get to know you a little, Donna. And I need this book. 🙂

    Very cool, MJ, on the two covers! Amazing to see what two different artists will do with the same stock photo to start from. I guess it’s like books – ten of us could start from the same premise, but in the end, they really wouldn’t resemble each other more than superficially.

    Reply

  3. Lucy Francis
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 08:33:47

    Lovely interview, and that cover is just gorgeous, Roxy!

    Reply

  4. Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 08:50:04

    Thanks Cynthia, Nora and Lucy. I just love the sensuality that couple packs into the embrace.

    I’m thinking MJ and I have similar tastes because I had short-listed the couple on her ROAD SIGNS book, too!

    Donna/Roxy.

    Reply

  5. Michelle Beattie
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 09:02:21

    Great interview, Roxy! And apparently we all have the same taste, I’ve used the same couple from her Bluesky Homecoming for one of my books!

    I’ve read all of Roxy’s work, and it’s all stellar. No need to enter me in the draw.

    Reply

  6. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 09:14:54

    Aw, thanks, Michelle. You made my day.

    Donna/Roxy.

    Reply

  7. Suzanne Stengl
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 10:13:58

    Hi Donna, aka Roxy – LOVE your cover! Can you tell us how you came up with that cute pseudonym?

    Reply

  8. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 11:14:57

    Thanks for stopping by, Suzanne. Here’s the story about my pen name.

    When my brother was about 6, my parents finally scraped together enough money to build a house – and my father did a lot of the work himself. When my brother was about 14, he got a surprise baby sister. Me. And that was the house they brought me home to.

    A few years ago, after my dad passed away, my mother decided it was time to sell and move into a seniors’ residence and I helped her clear out 50+ years of accumulation. And I was the very last member of the family to sleep there.

    I loved that little house my dad built. I dream about it all the time, since it was such a part of my life and our family for so long. And that little home was on…Roxborough Road.

    Hence Roxy Boroughs.

    Reply

  9. Amy Jo Fleming
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 11:39:44

    Roxy this was a great interview. I read your book and loved it.

    Reply

  10. Lecia Cornwall
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 11:39:49

    I love the story of your pen name, and I loved A STRANGER’S KISS, and can’t wait until A STRANGER’S TOUCH is released! Looking forward to many more of your wonderfully-written, suspenseful stories!

    Reply

  11. Louise Behiel
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 12:01:49

    I loved this book. It’s a keeper. great interview and a great cover.

    Reply

  12. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 12:28:25

    Hi Amy Jo, Lecia and Louise. Thanks for coming by and for all your kind words.

    And A STRANGER’S TOUCH is available now, Lecia. Through Amazon’s ebook store. Enjoy!

    Reply

  13. kymbermorgan
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 14:57:29

    Hi Roxy,

    I’m so with you on the guilty pleasure thing! Life’s too short and it tends to interfere with one’s fun quotient. Something you give in spades in writing. Are you planning on more stories along this line? (hint hint nudge nudge) 🙂

    Reply

  14. collib
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 15:30:43

    I read A Stranger’s Kiss as soon as it came out and it is a heart-pounder from the romance and the plot! Your serial killer scared me to death but I loved Sam! I read this story in one sitting and then had to go find A Stranger’s Touch.

    What’s your next book going to be about?

    Reply

  15. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 16:01:44

    Thanks Kymber and Collib.

    You won’t have long to wait for some new Roxy titles. The first is quite a departure – a romantic comedy called CRAZY FOR COWBOY. It’s part of a series I’m doing with Steena Holmes and will follow up her HOT FOR COWBOY title, which is already out. After that, I’ll be debuting WOLFEN TIME, an Urban Fantasy. Then I’ll be working away at a few more romantic suspense titles.

    Reply

  16. Jane Myers Perrine (@PerrineJane)
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 20:43:42

    Roxy–what a great interview. You are darling. Bet your book is delightful.

    “”I gave up guilt long ago”–what a great line!

    Reply

  17. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 21:12:34

    Thanks, Jane. You’re darling to say so.

    Reply

  18. Lawna Mackie
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 21:26:12

    I love your cover! Very nice. I also like your guilty pleasure “cheese”…great choice.

    Reply

  19. Donna Tunney/Roxy Boroughs
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 22:24:51

    Yes, Lawna. Cheese is my downfall. Too yummy.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  20. A.M.Westerling
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 21:11:35

    Loved the story of how you came up with Roxy. Great interview!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

