Goals for the First Week of State Testing

 

I have to give a test to a single student this week. Two days. I have to read the questions on the reading test to him, and all the math test. Then when he’s done we just sit there until 12:15, at which time I go watch a Pre-K class so their aide can go to lunch. Then I get lunch and planning, then teach a 5th grade class. Don’t you wish you were me? I do like actually knowing what I’m going to do, though. During the practice tests, I’d do one thing one day and another thing another day. Drove me nuts.

Monday we’re having a pep rally to get the kids fired up. The theme is “Dancing with the STAARS” since the test is the “STAAR” test. The teachers perform for the kids. We practiced Friday and will practice again in the morning. So I’ll miss about 3 classes tomorrow, and all but one on Tuesday and Wednesday.

This week I HAVE to get in a routine. I’ll be home in the afternoons, though, so it should be better.

  1. EXERCISE. This needs to be number one because I haven’t done it officially in 2 weeks. I worked in the yard a lot over Spring Break, so I was moving, but not official exercise.
  2. WRITE.
  3. REVISE.
  4. CLEAN THE DANGED HOUSE. Also cook more. I think I cooked once and Fred cooked once this week.
  5. Survive testing with my sanity intact, since I cannot do ANYTHING for those 4 hours other than read the test to the kid. Even when he’s done, I can’t do ANYTHING.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 12:06:33

    Wow, what does that poor student get to do with the rest of his time after he finishes the test?

    Good luck this week, especially with getting back into a routine. That’s my main goal for the week, too…sort of spring cleaning the way I run my life lately 🙂

    Reply

  2. MJ Fredrick
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 20:35:11

    He has to put his head down for the time between the time we finish and the test-ending time. We’re both going to be bored. And he’s not a kid I talk to a lot, he keeps to himself. Soooo…..

    Spring cleaning the way you run your life–I like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

