Random Saturday

  • Hunger Games was amazing. A. Ma. Zing. Would go see it again in a heartbeat. And almost 2 years until the sequel??? They haven’t even started filming yet!
  • My couches are just high enough that it’s easy for my shoes to get kicked underneath. I found 2 pair of Crocs there this week.
  • Speaking of Crocs…they have a new style I want. I know, you’re shocked. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • It’s been sunny all week. Why is it gloomy on my day off WHEN I CAN SIT BY THE WINDOW?
  • I haven’t written since Monday. I wasn’t home until late Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. My house is a disaster. (Witness the two pair of Crocs under the couch!)
  • A teacher and her class brought me a bouquet of flowers yesterday. They were studying plants and thought I’d like them. They’re Indian Paintbrush, my favorite wildflower. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • I’m thinking about getting a Nook Tablet.
  • I’m also thinking about getting a jean jacket. So many of the outfits I see on Pinterest have cute little jean jackets. My jean jacket is a men’s Wrangler’s jacket. Warm, but not cute.
  • This is what I’ve been working on in my backyard. There is this little area that I haven’t been able to get established in the 13 years I’ve lived here. Maybe this year… Have to keep the dog out of it, though.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Supernatural is no longer in my top five favorite shows. This makes me very sad, especially after this season started so strong.
  • We’re having a pep rally on Monday to fire the kids up for the state testing on Tuesday and Wednesday. I’m running the music. Whoopie. We were practicing until 4 on Friday, because the person in charge wrote it Thursday. They wanted to practice Sunday, too. All I could think was, “Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.”
  • The 5th grade is testing Reading and Math this week. Already. Usually they test it at the end of April. On one hand, the pressure’s off early and you have 2 good months to teach (and get ready for the science test). But on the other hand…the kids are going to think they’re DONE.

What’s going on with you?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 08:38:21

    I couldn’t find a jean jacket for Cherry, my oldest, so I glammed one up with black lace and silver metallic trim. Turned out really cute. I’ve been thinking about making one for me. If you can’t find one you like, you might try that on your wrangler.

    Reply

  2. Lucy Francis
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 11:31:14

    You are the queen of Crocs! And that new style is way cute. Hmmm. Maybe I will get some, since we’re heading into that time of year when I refuse to wear shoes.

    I’m trying to hit a Monday deadline and have a looooong way to go still, so I suppose I’d better get back to it. Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply

  3. MaryC
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:02:02

    Love the new Crocs.

    Waiting to see HG with DD1 but I don’t know when she’ll find the time since she seems to have rehearsals every night.

    Our state testing begins April 17th – ONE day after we get back from Easter Break. So the kids will have been off for 11 days and back 1 when we begin. Should be fun.
    NOT!

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 08:14:53

    Liz, I found one at Kohls online. The one I have now is very bulky and wouldn’t quite work. I’d love to see a picture of what you did!

    Lucy, I AM! I hesitate to buy new because my others are in good shape. I have 2 for the yard, 4 for school, and 2 very casual (very flat) so I should be good. Those are cute, though.

    Mary, bummer on having to wait. Josh went last night, I think, to the 12:30 show after his GF got off work. I’m anxious to hear what he thought!

    What a ridiculous time to test! Dumb, dumb, dumb. Our second week is during Fiesta, when the kids all go the the carnival every night, or the parades, or Night in Old San Antonio….bad timing, but not as bad as yours! I’m surprised you guys got a break. Our district would have moved it, or canceled it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

