Introducing Indie Author Elysa Hendricks

Elysa and I also met on the Indie Romance loops. I just LOVE her covers, and that she writes COWBOYS!

Please comment for a chance to win one of her books!

  1. What was the inspiration for this book?

I grew up watching John Wayne westerns and western TV series – Bonanza, Have Gun Will Travel, The Rifleman, and The Big Valley – to name a few. Then Lucia St. Clair Robson’s RIDE THE WIND and Larry McMurtry’s LONESOME DOVE stirred my curiosity about the “real” old west. Once I read TR Fehrenbach’s COMANCHES:The Destruction of a People, a non-fiction book that’s as gripping as any novel, I knew I had to write a story set in the American west. THIS HEART FOR HIRE is the result.

  1. What’s next for you?

A friend and I have co-authored a humorous women’s fiction book titled: GRANNIES AND TRANNIES: VEGAS OR BUST and are shopping it around to agents and editors. While I’m waiting for that six-figure offer I’ve been working on a contemporary fantasy about a matchmaking cat, as well as another western historical romance and a sci-fi romance. I’ve also been re-releasing some of my backlist titles as ebooks. HER WILD TEXAS HEART, which is the sequel to THIS HEART FOR HIRE will be available soon.

  1. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

First off I play around on Facebook, check my email, and write blogs. Weather permitting I’ll work in my garden. I love to shop and when I’m really desperate I’ll even clean my house.

  1. How many books in your TBR pile?

Do I count all the books on my new Kindle? If I’m only counting the print books, well, I really don’t know. I lost track years ago. I have books on shelves. Books piled on tables, chairs and the floor. Not to mention the books in boxes. I’m so far behind in my reading that I’m praying there’s a well-stocked library waiting for me in heaven.

  1. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

Guilt? What’s that? I figure if it’s a pleasure then I deserve it and don’t have anything to feel guilty about when I indulge.

  1. Name 3 of your favorite things.

Only three? I like things that begin with S, like sun, sand, surf, seafood, and sex. And of course – Chocolate.

  1. Where can readers find you?

Usually at my desk working on my next great masterpiece. Oh, you mean online? They can contact me through my web site:

http://www.elysahendricks.com

or on my Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Elysa-Hendricks-Author/137316289643103

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 10:30:17

    Your TBR pile sounds like mine, Elysa! Glad to see you here today. I really love the cover of This Heart for Hire, and it’s in one of my TBR piles.

    Reply

  2. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:44:11

    Loved this interview, Ladies! And Alysa, you and your co-author MUST sell that book, Grannies and Trannies! I’d be all over that. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Elysa Hendricks
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:31:08

    Thanks so much for having me here to visit today!

    Reply

  4. Caffey
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:12:43

    I so LOVE cowboy romances to read too! And 100% agree, the covers are awesome! Do you do the covers yourself or get to approve as these released all by you? I’ve been indulging shopping, reading and loving the Indie books I find! I can find just what I’m looking for in genres and sensuality and its been fab reading favorite authors as well as new to me authors! We have a channel here called ME and it has old shows and I finally get to watch The Big Valley captioned for the deaf! I loved watching it but never understood when it was out. Oh too, love Little Joe in Bonanza. Usually Saturdays I find them more on that day of these shows! I want to watch Lomesome Dove and hope those show up on that channel or somewhere and watch right from the start!

    Congrats on your releases! Would love to be in the contest!

    cathiecaffey AT gmail DOT com

    Reply

  5. Elysa Hendricks
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 09:20:23

    Caffey,

    I have a cover artist who translates the vision I have in my head for my covers into reality. Joleene Naylor. I think she does a fabulous job.

    Lonesome Dove is a must watch/read for lovers of the American West. But don’t expect happy endings from Larry McMurtry. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

