Introducing…Diana Layne!

Diana Layne and I met and became friends through Indie Romance, and on Twitter. I’m so happy to bring her here to you today!

Please comment for a chance to win her book!

Indie Interview Questions

  1. What was the inspiration for this book?

For The Good Daughter, a Mafia suspense book, this is going to sound funny. But a soccer game sparked the idea. One of my favorite soccer players missed a goal in an overtime match which sent his team home in defeat. I was so depressed a writer friend suggested I write a book about it, but add that the Mafia made him miss the goal. I took the idea, created my fictional players, my FBI agent, my Mafia daughter and her powerful Mafia family, and a book was born! (note, there are no actual soccer games in the book, just a couple of soccer players.)

2. What’s next for you?

The Good Daughter is a prequel to my Vista Security suspense series. The next book, the first in the series, Trust No One (which was also my Golden Heart® final), is with an editor now. The FBI Main Character in The Good Daughter has a cameo in Trust No One and in later books both he and the Mafia daughter will have more prominent roles. Can’t say any more than that without a spoiler alert.

3. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

Answer emails and read posts on the Internet. That way, at least I can pretend I’m writing or researching, LOL.

4. How many books in your TBR pile?

My TBR pile rivals the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Several leaning towers, in fact, stacked haphazardly around in um…more than one room.  I also have a digital TBR pile on my Kindle as well. It’s a second generation and I think I’m getting close to the data limit, sigh. (time for a new one?)

5. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

Aside from buying books? Hahaha. Taking a nap. Given I’m a homeschooling mom/writer, I get 4-5 hours sleep a night. The only way I can crawl out of bed at 3:30 in the morning is to promise myself I can take a nap later. Okay, most days ‘later’ never comes, but so far, I haven’t figured out I’m lying. (yes, I can be slow sometimes)

6. Name 3 of your favorite things.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens–oh, sorry, for some reason, the Sound Of Music just popped into my head.

I’m a Gemini. I’m ADD. My favorite things seem to change moment-by-moment. At this time, with the kids fighting in the background, quiet would rank high up on the list.

A back massage—not that I’ve ever had one, but I like to fantasize. Actually, as long as I’m fantasizing, let’s nix the massage and just go for a full time masseuse. Tall, dark, big biceps. Yes, I like that idea.

Oh, and I do love movies. Going-to-the-movie-theater kind of movies, with popcorn and soft drinks and Jordan almonds, well, except I’m giving up soft drinks and candy this year, urg. Still, I love the whole movie experience. Before you ask, action-adventure is my favorite kind of movie. Although I did make the opening midnight showing of the last Twilight movie, Breaking Dawn, part 1.

7. Where can readers find you?

I’m at the usual writerly haunts. Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari. Easiest is probably my website, where you can sign up for my newsletter and get the scoop on the social media.

www.dianalayne.com

Thanks, it’s been fun!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Phinney
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 07:40:27

    Great interview. I can see myself enjoying a conversation with Diana. Thank you both for taking the time to share with everyone.

    Reply

  2. morganmandel
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 08:34:17

    Amazing how an author’s mind wanders. You watch a soccer game and write a bok nothing to do with soccer, yet the game somehow inspired you. And people ask how we get ideas. Sometimes they come to us in the most unlikeliest places. Sounds like a good book, also may I add, it does have a great cover!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • Diana Layne
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:08:41

      yes, I am always so grateful for the ideas and the characters. I went through a period of time when they disappeared completely, the silence was deafening and scary. Now, as well as practicing gratitude, I do work hard to pamper and honor the muse!

      Reply

  3. Laurie Kellogg
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 08:57:13

    Oooh! I’m with you on the masseuse, Diana. Not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but I LOVE your book cover.

    Reply

    • Diana Layne
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:40:53

      Thanks, Laurie! I’m sure you’re one who I begged for votes in the cover contest, but I think my daughter-in-law did a fabulous job! Right now, I’m hoping she’ll get the print version done soon, but she’s due to have our second grandchild this month, and I can’t seem to get her to stop cleaning and washing long enough to work on the cover, lol.

      Reply

  4. Barb Han
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 09:43:33

    Massages. Quiet. You do dream big, girl, don’t you? LOL. I know what you mean about naps. Love them. Great cover, btw! And fabulous read. I’m a total fan-girl!

    Reply

    • Diana Layne
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:54:33

      Might as well dream big, right? I totally live in a fantasy world, lol. Thanks re: cover, I was so excited for the DIL when it won You Gotta Read’s Feb cover contest.

      Reply

  5. Lucy Francis
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 09:52:05

    Great cover, Diana! I really enjoyed getting to know you a bit through this interview. Getting by on very little sleep, dreams of massages, love of the movie experience…we’re kindred spirits, LOL.

    Best wishes for great success with The Good Daughter!

    Reply

  6. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 11:26:23

    Cute interview, and it certainly made me curious to try your books. Great cover.

    Reply

  7. Alicia Street
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:12:21

    Fun answers, Diana! And I hear you on the sleep guilt.

    Reply

    • Diana Layne
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:02:45

      Actually, I slept in today, and now I’m so behind. I hate when I do that, but some days the lies just don’t work, lol. At least one of my older sons, who lives here with his family while they finish up college, is off work today so he’s taking over cooking dinner, yay, so I can hopefully make up for lost time.

      Reply

  8. Bev Pettersen
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 15:19:00

    Enjoyed the interview, Diana! Especially hearing about the inspiration behind The Good Daughter. Soccer is such a bloodthirsty sport! Hope this is your month to get sleep and a massage.

    Reply

    • Diana Layne
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 23:25:28

      Thanks, Bev! I used to love soccer, played on an adult team and coached three youth teams (yes, all at the same time). I looked forward to my soccer game every week so I could relieve all my frustrations from the week. These days, my body couldn’t take it but I do think that a massage would work too. 🙂

      Reply

  9. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 15:29:42

    Great interview, gals! And gorgeous cover, Diana. It’s kind of intimidating being hosted on MJ’s site because her book covers are so awesome, but yours fits right in. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Calisa Rhose
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 18:18:55

    I can understand why this book won cover of the year, Di! I love it. Can’t wait to get it and read it. Maybe today will be my lucky day? Great interview.

    Reply

  11. Savannah Chase
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 11:24:22

    Diana, it is nice to meet you…Fantastic interview….Enjoyed it a lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

