So Excited to Bring You….Bonnie Vanak!

A few years back, I went to a conference–not sure if it was SARA or RWA–and heard Chris Keesler talk about how excited he was to find this new author who wrote about Egypt. Today, I bring that author to you. Bonnie Vanak has written for Dorchester, and now writes for Nocturne and herself (this is off the top of my head, because I know I have one of her wolf stories on my Nook!)

Please comment for a chance to win one of her books!

  1. What was the inspiration for this book? Taken by the Alpha Wolf is a prequel to my Nocturne Draicon series. I was between contracts and decided to write a short story about Etienne, the eldest brother, and how he met his mate, Cindy. He’s an Alpha werewolf who is also an ex-Navy SEAL. My goal was to make the story affordable to readers, so I sold it for 99 cents on Amazon and Smashwords.

It’s sad, but while I was finishing this story, my father-in-law went into Hospice. Taken by the Alpha Wolf became a fantasy to escape into while dealing with the grief of watching him slip away. In the story, I have this larger-than-life character, a big, bad brave werewolf  who fights the demon bad guys and wins. Etienne will never know old age or sickness or any of the myriad of things that happen to us as humans. It’s something I cherish about writing romance, because as a writer, you control the characters and the outcome, while sometimes in real life, you have so little control.

2. What’s next for you? Right now I’m contracted for three more Nocturnes from Harlequin. The first, The Covert Wolf, is slated for release this August. The hero is Matt from Taken by the Alpha Wolf. Matt is Etienne’s brother-in-law and Cindy’s brother. He’s a Navy SEAL who teams with a Fae to find a missing Orb of Light before it falls into the hands of the pyrokinetic demons who killed his best friend and fellow SEAL. Matt’s big, sexy and stoic and part of a covert group of SEALS with paranormal powers. He meets his match in Sienna, an outcast Fae who’s determined rejoin her colony by finding the sacred Orb and returning it. As part of my research, I spent time interviewing a photographer friend who’d spent time in Iraq and came under fire by insurgents.

3. When you’re procrastinating, what do you do? Everything. Even housework. Of course, when I look around the house, I realize I need to procrastinate more, lol!

4. How many books in your TBR pile? Too many. And now I have a Nook, so that has doubled my books! I love my Nook and downloading books, but I’m also into paperbacks and trade size. Dh and I enjoy going to the bookstore. Reading is a pleasure and my reward after I finish writing a story. Right now my reward is Neil Gaiman’s American Gods.

5. What’s your biggest guilty pleasure? Curling up on the sofa with a glass of red wine and watching horror movies when I know I should be writing!

6. Name 3 of your favorite things. My Dh and our rescue Shih Tzu dogs, traveling to new destinations to find inspiration for writing, and time with friends and family.

7. Where can readers find you? My website is http://www.bonnievanak.com and I have a facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Bonnie-Vanak/156658807736 I recently had my website redesigned to make it more reader friendly. You can access my books more easily and sort through them. One of my goals is putting my entire Dorchester backlist up on Kindle. I received the rights back to all seven of these Egyptian romances, and I have one more book left to format and self-publish on Kindle.

WHEE!!!! I’m so excited to hear that!

Okay, y’all, comment!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 06:33:16

    Once again, two of my favorite authors – MJ and Bonnie – right here! I love this blog. 🙂

    Bonnie, LOL on needing to procrastinate more! Also, so excited to know all your wonderful Khamsin Warrior books are going to be up for new fans to find.That’s one thing you couldn’t fault Dorchester for – they were prepared to publish historicals from different time periods. Your Egyptian historicals are so fabulous.

    Reply

  2. Lynda Bailey
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 11:17:05

    Bonnie~

    Fabulous post. My, but you’re a very busy author. Someday I’ll have those words written about me. 🙂

    Love that you’ve gotten your rights back on your Egyptian series and major congrats on getting those indie-pubbed for Kindle! Can’t wait to read them all.

    Reply

    • Bonnie Vanak
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:19:07

      Thanks Lynda! I hope you enjoy them. Actually, The Scorpion and the Seducer, is free today on Kindle! It’s one of my Egyptian books. Today is the last day it is free, as it’s part of a five day promotion I’ve done with Amazon.

      Reply

  3. Clover Autrey
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 13:36:58

    Sorry about your father-in-law. I also understand how writing can keep you sane through deep sorrow.

    Reply

  4. alicegaines
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 16:13:10

    Hi, Bonnie,

    Good news on the Nocturnes!

    Reply

    • Bonnie Vanak
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:21:06

      Hi Alice! Thank you! The first book in the new Nocturne series, The Covert Wolf, is now available for pre-order on Amazon. I’m in the process now of plotting the second book, which features a secondary character from The Covert Wolf.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

