Welcome to Bluestone: Bluestone Song

This weekend I uploaded the second book in my Bluestone trilogy, Bluestone Song. In Bluestone Homecoming, country singer Maddox Bradley is scheduled to play a concert in Bluestone and Beth Lapointe is a little freaked out. She’d had a romance with Maddox when they were teens and she didn’t want him to see her stuck in pretty much the same circumstances she’d been in when he left her.

Maddox had been having trouble of his own. He’s been sober now 2 years and hasn’t been involved with anyone, hasn’t been able to help anyone. But Beth clearly needs his help. Can he get her to accept it?

To celebrate the release, I’m offering a coupon for Bluestone Homecoming, the first book in the series, for $1.02 cents from Smashwords. (Don’t ask why $1.02. That’s 66% off, which is the max.) Anyway. Go here, use the code XF78W  and get lost in Bluestone!

When I was writing this book I listened to a lot of country music, trying to find Maddox’s voice. I never did find exactly what he sounded like in my head, I found an album that had songs that I felt like he’d write. I listened to Wide Open by Jason Aldean about every day.

Here are some of the songs.

 

 

I made a board on Pinterest with my inspiration. The cool thing about this? No ink was used 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:10:40

    MJ, loved reading this. And very cool learning about Pinterest. What an awesome tool. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth Crisp
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:35:26

    Very cool to include the music in a blog post. Don’t you just love pinterest? I’m addicted.

    Reply

  3. Lucy Francis
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:47:27

    What a cool idea, making a Pinterest board for your book inspiration. I may have to steal that idea! I finished Bluestone Homecoming last night (loved it) so I’ll be picking up Bluestone Song today.

    Reply

  4. MaryC
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:53:28

    Hi MJ,

    I picked up Bluestone Song last night. You know I’m curious to see how differently we created something when we started with an idea that seemed so similar. Already I can tell the books are nothing alike. Phew!

    I always create a soundtrack for my books because no matter how long a break I might have to take, I can always dive right back in when I hear the music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

