Favorite (And Not-Favorite) Chick Flicks

Sooo….my husband has band practice tomorrow night. That’s right. Valentine’s Day. I think I’ll survive by having a Hawaii 5-0 marathon. We don’t usually do anything anyway, but on top of him calling me last week and letting me know we were having company in 24 hours (and he was, yes, at band practice and couldn’t help me get ready) I’d say he owes me BIG.

On second thought, maybe I’ll do a chick-flick marathon. This weekend, Teresa Medeiros listed her favorite and not favorite chick flicks. I agreed with some, but not others.

So, my favorites:

Two Weeks Notice. I absolutely love the development of the partnership between Sandra and Hugh’s characters. I think Hugh is hella charming, and Sandra is the queen of rom-coms!

 

 

 

Bridget Jones. He likes her just as she is. Sigh.

 

 

 

 

 

Pride and Prejudice, if we’re talking Mr. Darcy at all. And yes, I’ll settle for Keira Knightly if time is tight.

 

 

 

 

Romancing the Stone. Duh.

 

 

 

 

 

Princess Bride. Also duh.

 

 

 

 

 

Keeping the Faith. Okay, this is a little weird, a priest, a rabbi and the girl they both fall for, but it’s sweet and funny, and has Edward Norton.

 

 

 

 

Friends with Benefits. NOT recommended for those who are faint of heart, but it has areally sweet love story. I die when he takes her home. Die!

 

 

 

 

Catch and Release, but mostly because Timothy O is in it.

 

 

 

 

 

The Back-Up Plan. It has some silly moments, but is really sweet. J Lo meets the man of her dreams soon after being artificially inseminated, and he has to decide if he likes her enough to stick around. (Hint…he does!)

 

 

 

Tangled. Flynn Rider, bad boy, is reformed by a frying pan-weilding Rapunzel. Best. Animated movie. Ever.

 

 

 

 

 

My least favorites?

How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days. Guys. It was going GREAT. Then the screaming match onstage at the benefit completely ruined it.

 

 

 

 

Message in a Bottle. I stayed up late one night to watch and when the ending came? I nearly smashed my TV. Why, Nicholas Sparks? WHY???

 

 

 

 

My Best Friend’s Wedding. I admit, I saw this once, but she’s trying to break up a wedding DAYS before it happens? How selfish is that?

What chick flicks do you love? Hate? What ones did I forget?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz Flaherty
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 08:33:29

    Oh, Colin Firth…one of my all-time favorites is still STEEL MAGNOLIAS.

    Reply

  2. Liz Flaherty
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 08:35:02

    Oh, I forgot…my least favorite is THELMA AND LOUISE. They were so cool, and then they took the way out they did. Ruined the whole damn movie for me. I never watched it again.

    Reply

  3. Lucy Francis
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 18:28:08

    I’m right there with you on many of these. Especially Tangled! I confess to loving Clueless. 13 Going on 30 is one I’ll watch repeatedly. Ever After, even though I’m not a huge Drew Barrymore fan. And While You Were Sleeping. And while I could probably list more, I’ll stop at My Big Fat Greek Wedding.

    Dislikes: I really don’t do Nicholas Sparks stuff.

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 06:48:42

    Oh, I DO love Steel Magnolias–perfect blend of angst and humor! I absolutely agree about Thelma and Louise! I never saw it a second time, either! Lucy, I do love Clueless! I’ve seen 13 Going on 30 a couple of times, and I will pause on While You Were Sleeping. I have it and Greek Wedding on DVD.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

