Do You Remember When You Started Writing

I had dinner with an old friend this week. He wants to write a novel, has been writing professionally for a magazine, but he doesn’t know where to start.

I don’t remember that feeling. He seems to have a need to write, but it’s nebulous, something he can’t grasp. Vaguely, at the edge of my memory, I can remember the need to write, but as I recall, I always had an idea about what to write. I always knew I wanted to write romance, and I remember mostly always having an idea. Maybe I didn’t, though.

Do you remember when you started? Did you always know just what you wanted to write?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Francis
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 14:32:01

    I made up stories all the time as a child, though I distinctly remember the first one I wrote down. I was six and wrote a whole three paragraphs on the school bus, about Serafina, the talking cat. After that, I don’t recall a time when I didn’t have at least a couple of stories clamoring for attention at any given time.

    Reply

  2. Mary Curry
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:37:19

    I do indeed remember.
    I was attending a business conference in San Francisco. I’d bought a magazine in the airport. It had an article on Shirlee Busbee and Rosemary Rogers with a focus on how they worked as secretaries in the same office and then wrote romances. That was the first time it occurred to me that ordinary people were writers. I guess I’d always held authors in such esteem that it never even occurred to me I could take those stories in my head and put them on paper.

    Reply

  3. Marianne Arkins
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 06:25:05

    I wrote my first novel in fourth grade. I even remember the title (“A Horse Called Mystery”). I can’t remember not wanting to write, and ideas are never a problem (I sometimes wish they were because they’re like siren’s songs and I have a hard time sticking to just one at a time).

    I can’t imagine “wondering” what to write!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

