Welcome to Self-Published and Traditionally Published Author Barbara Phinney!

Barbara Phinney is another prolific indie author who writes under her name, and also under Georgina Lee. She’s written for Love Inspired and Intimate Moments, but has dipped her toe in the self-publishing waters.

As always, comment or tweet using the hashtag #52weeksofindie for a chance to win Souvenirs.

Here’s Barbara!

 

1)      What was the inspiration for this book? I was at the beach one day, watching people, and mulling over what I could write about, and wondered if there was anyone who ever found a body there. (Suspense writers often have this muse, trust me.) My husband had recently returned from Bosnia. Though he was fine, I thought of those who had both physical and emotional scars. The story just blossomed from there.

2)      What’s next for you? Right now, I am polishing off an espionage/romantic suspense story, one with no faith elements, but set in South America.

3)      When you’re procrastinating, what do you do? I check my email, Twitter, Facebook, my sales, anything that can keep me at the computer, but not working. <g>

4)      How many books in your TBR pile? Oh, I don’t want to even think about that!  I probably have about 30 books waiting to be read, but most are on my Kindle, which allows me to read faster than a paper book.

5)      What’s your biggest guilty pleasure? This is a dangerous question!  It’s somewhere between wasting time surfing the internet, to reading a really good Medieval novel with a bit of spice. I don’t write anything spicy. I’m not very good at that, but I don’t mind reading it. It’s part and parcel of the human experience.

6)      Name 3 of your favorite things. Well, shortbread, my family, and writing, are all very enjoyable to me.

7)      Where can readers find you? The best place to connect with me is either at my blog, http://barbphinney.blogspot.com/ or on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000497524066 or Twitter @BarbaraPhinney My website is static and I’m waiting until I get some more books independently published, in order to get it updated.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Phinney
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 13:25:58

    Thank you MJ for inviting me here. And I got more good news today. Romantic Times has given Souvenirs 4 stars and a glowing review! So lovely! So please comment and you’ll be entered to win a copy of this book.

    Reply

  2. Kate Kelly
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 15:11:31

    Barbara, I didn’t know you loved shortbread! You’ll have to beg Linda H to make you some. Hers is sinfully delicious! Mentioning your TBR pile – and wow!, 330? Really? – made me wonder what you liked more, reading or writing?

    Reply

  3. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 16:02:23

    Great interview, gals. Barbara, I love medieval romances, too! Oh, and congratulations on the 4 stars from RT! Well done!

    Reply

  4. Lori Gallagher
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 18:22:07

    Interesting interview – I enjoy reading the inspiration behind a story. Reading this book will be all the more fun with that extra bit of information.

    Reply

  5. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 20:13:36

    Sounds interesting. I’ve notice that a couple of the Indie authors here used to write for Love Inspired, but don’t anymore. Just wondering about that.

    Reply

  6. Lina Gardiner
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:10:57

    Wow, that’s so great, Barbara. I didn’t even know ebooks got reviews at RT. You must be thrilled! Hope it means lots of sales for you.

    Reply

  7. Renee-Ann
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 06:27:14

    Awesome interview, Barbara. I can really relate to some of what you said, as i am, in some ways, very much the same. Look forward to reading your book. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Gail MacMillan
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 07:01:31

    Enjoyed your comments, Barbara. Your thoughts on procrastinating echo a lot of mine.

    Gail

    Reply

  9. Barbara Phinney
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 16:32:26

    Thank you all of you for dropping by. Ahh, procrastinating. Doing it right now, instead of cooking supper.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

