Where to Go Next?

So of course as soon as I finish with my trilogy and am all excited about starting something new, the first book of the trilogy is rejected. So I’m trying to decide what to do next.

Submit to a new publisher? I already have four to keep track of, and if I do that, will  I have a book out this year?

Self-publish? You need a good cover, and that’s pricey. What’s more, I’ll need 3, not to mention the formatting, which I just can’t make myself learn. AND I can’t find good stock art. I know what I want as the overall look, but finding the right couple is just….hard. The heroine of my first book is blonde, and all of the male models with the blonde stock photo girls are kinda goofy looking. And they don’t really stand out. Plus I want an emblem on each cover that says, “Welcome to Bluestone,” like a population sign or something.

So…while I’m trying to get into this new story, I’m distracted by these decisions. What to do, what to do….

Also, I want a new computer, like a lot. I know this one isn’t 2 years old yet, but I use it for HOURS and HOURS a day and it’s blessed slow. Thinking, thinking….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisabeth Crisp
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 10:17:56

    Sorry about the R. I hope your book(s) find a home. Keep writing. Write your way out.

    Reply

  2. Gina Black
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 14:36:01

    Sorry about the R also!

    As for formatting . . . I think you have a Mac? I write in Scrivener and it formats. 🙂 Beautiful .mobi and .epub files. It takes a little setting up but then it’s like magic.

    And for covers, I think Kim Killion knocks everyone else out of the ballpark. I think I’ve sold so many copies of my only book because her cover gets someone to look at the blurb. A good cover makes it’s expense right back.

    Good luck.

    Reply

  3. Mary Curry
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 17:36:32

    Sorry, MJ. 😦

    I’d say go for it with the epub. I’ve read a lot about how readers love epub series and you have the trilogy ready to go. You could do a discount deal on the first one to draw people in to the second two.

    Good luck whatever you decide.

    Reply

  4. mjfredrick
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 20:39:42

    Thanks, Elisabeth. I did manage 9 pages today!

    Gina, Kim K did my Midnight Sun cover, which is awesome, but her prices have gone up. I’m talking to Kim Van Meter right now. Her covers are lovely. Good to know about Scrivener.

    Thanks, Mary. That’s a consideration, too, the ability to price the books attractively.

    Reply

    • Elisabeth Crisp
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:26:55

      I’m late getting back to this, but here’s another vote for Scrivener. I don’t know a thing about formatting, but I LOVE Scrivener. It’s also really easy to export to .doc or RTF. The software is why I’m able to keep up with so many characters and plot lines at once.

      Reply

  5. Shelisa
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 22:40:20

    If you have all three in the trilogy ready to go, that would make it so easy to roll these out in rapid succession on your own. Unless you have another house that you work with that’s appropriate to submit these books to, then just do ’em yourself. I hear you on the stock photos…thank heaven for Photoshop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

