Interview with Self-Published Bestseller Theresa Ragan #52weeksofindie #IRInk

Ladies, welcome fellow Wet Noodle Posse member Theresa Ragan, who has had astonishing success with her self-published novels. She, like Norah Wilson last week, is part of the reason I dipped my toe in the self-publishing waters.

Please comment for a chance to win her latest, Dead Weight, sequel to one of my favorite books last year, Abducted. OR you can tweet with the hashtag #52weeksofindie. I’ll come look for you there 😉

 

1)      What was the inspiration for this book?

Dead Weight is the #2 book in my very first thriller series. I wrote Abducted, #1 in the series, a few years ago.

2)      What’s next for you?

I am making revisions to my next romantic comedy, Having My Baby. After that I plan to finish writing my third time travel romance and then #3 of the Lizzy Gardner series.

3)      Wow, busy! And not just writing one genre. I can get behind that 😉  When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

Reading, playing the piano, searching the internet.

4)      How many books in your TBR pile?

Hundreds. Too many to count.

5)      Yeah, I’m with you there. Sadly, my Nook counts for me! What’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

 

Traveling with my sisters. We’ve been to Nepal, Thailand, China and many other interesting places.

6)    WOW! Sounds adventurous! And neat.  Name 3 of your favorite things.

Family. Writing. Life.

7)      Where can readers find you? http://www.theresaragan.com

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 08:47:25

    Hi MJ, thanks for having me today. Hope your new year is starting out well.

    Reply

  2. Diane Gaston
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 10:08:18

    Oooo, a sequel to Abducted???? I loved Abducted.

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I’m very proud of both of you for your courage to forge a new path! Way to go!

    Reply

  3. T. Elliott Brown
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 10:12:20

    Hi Theresa and MJ,
    Great interview! Congratulations to both of you on your indie successes. Theresa, your traveling sounds exciting. I’ve hit the road in the RV several times this year, but I’m not sure we could get diesel in Nepal…

    Reply

  4. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 10:41:18

    Hi,

    Wow, that cover is scary “She only wanted to lose a few pounds . . “.Will have to take a look at your website.

    Reply

  5. Bev Pettersen
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 11:05:09

    Oh, boy. I didn’t know this was out! Congratulations, Theresa. I’m so impressed with how you can write three different genres…so fabulously!

    Reply

  6. Julia Smith
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 11:45:11

    I agree – your cover and tag line are awesome. Enjoyed the interview, Theresa and M.J.!

    Reply

  7. Trish Milburn
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:05:43

    Hey, Theresa and MJ, two of my favorite people. 🙂 Congrats on the new book, Theresa. Like MJ, I’m constantly in awe of your indie success. And you totally deserve it.

    Reply

  8. vondasinclair
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:06:20

    Congratulations, Theresa, both on the new release and on your many successes! Your traveling sounds like so much fun. And this book looks fantastic!

    Reply

  9. Shelisa
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:07:21

    Fun interview. And that tag line…that’s enough to make me pick it up, right there! Congratulations on your success, Theresa! You’re an inspiration as well as a great storyteller.

    Reply

  10. norahwilson
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 13:23:30

    Great interview, Theresa! I don’t have to tell you Abducted was one of my favorite books last year. You had me locking my windows and doors.And holy ominous tag lines, Batman! I am off to buy Dead Weight right now. That cover rocks!

    Reply

  11. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 16:04:19

    Hi Diane! Thanks for being so supportive and encouraging. We’ve always been proud of you!

    T. Elliott, the traveling has been fun. My older sister has the traveling bug and in the beginning she had to force me to go, but now I love it. My sister and her son like to live dangerously though and I have been literally chased by a wild elephant and I came home from Nepal with more than a few worm things. I’m good to go now though and I would do it again. 🙂

    Ha! Thanks, Gayle. Dead Weight isn’t as creepy or scary as Abducted. At least I don’t think it is. #3 in the series will be really scary! 🙂

    Hi Bev, and thanks for stopping by! I love writing in different genres. I am revising my romantic comedy right now and it sure is fun.

    Thanks, Julia!

    Awe, thanks, Trish. Trish used to hear me sign and whine a little at conference. What a strange journey I have been on. When I first started writing, I knew it would be a tough journey to get sold, but I had no idea it would be this tough. I was doing everything right, but I couldn’t make that sale. I wanted to show my kids that hard work and perseverance would pay off…and it really does!!!

    Vonda, nice to see you here! I’ve been wondering how things are going for you. When will we see your next book? I know you were working on something. I hope you have a wonderful 2012!

    Shelisa, thank you so much!

    LOL, Norah. holy ominous taglines batline! You’re too funny. Thanks to you, I gave self-publishing a try. I am so glad I did. I love the creative freedom of designing books and titles and doing everything my way. If 2012 is half the fun of 2011, then I’m good to go.

    When the clock struck midnight on New Year’s Eve I watched the fireworks and I cried as I thought about all of the wonderful things that happened to me in 2011. It was just one of those crazy wonderful years. I hope 2012 is GREAT for all of you!

    Reply

  12. Mary Curry
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 17:44:41

    Theresa, I just love your success story. Having seen how hard you’ve worked, it just gave me warm, fuzzy feelings seeing your books take off this year. And thank you also for being so open about your process.

    I have to agree with everyone else – What a fabulous tag line!

    Reply

  13. Leslie P Garcia
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 17:50:51

    Enjoyed the interview, MJ and Teresa. Have to put your books on my list, Teresa–sound intriguing. And Teresa, I have to tell you–what you said about needing to show hard work pay off and how hard the waiting was–that helped me more than you know in facing some issues with my own writing!

    All my best, and continued success.

    Reply

  14. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:14:52

    Thank you, Mary, for all the kind words!

    Hi Leslie, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write such a nice comment.

    Reply

  15. Alicia Street
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 09:37:43

    Great interview, MJ and Theresa! Love the title of the new book, Theresa. Can’t wait to read it. Glad to hear you’ll be doing another time travel. Will it be a related sequel or totally new? Best of new year’s wishes to you both!

    Reply

  16. Trisha Wilson
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 10:54:08

    Terrific interview! Thanks for sharing, MJ & Theresa!

    Dead Weight sounds great! I just added it to my “Wish List”.

    Happy New Year & May God bless,
    Trisha Wilson

    Reply

  17. Sandy Blair
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 12:20:48

    Great interview (I learned so much about you!) and seriously great cover. Love it! Can’t wait to read this.

    Reply

  18. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 16:32:51

    Hi Alicia, good to see you over here. Thanks so much for dropping by. My newest time travel is not set in medieval times! It’s set in shakespearean times. I am very excited about the book. All new characters.

    Trisha, thanks and Happy New year to you, too!

    Hi Sandy. It’s amazing that we have known each other for 8 years now and there is still so much to learn about one another! ha! The last two times I saw you, you were on crutches. I hope you’re done with those things! I also hope you have a wonderful 2012!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

