This Week in #52weeksofindie Meet Norah Wilson

Norah is the reason I’ve dipped my toe in the indie waters–she’s had some success, and most of all, has been so excited about writing again!

Remember, to be entered in a drawing for her book Guarding Suzannah, comment here, or tweet about it, using the hashtag #52weeksofindie!

Without further ado, Norah Wilson!

 

1)      What was the inspiration for this book?

I actually wrote Saving Grace first, but after I introduced John Quigley as a secondary character (Ray Morgan’s sergeant), I knew I had to write his story, too. Quigg was just so solid and loyal and unshakeable, I figured he deserved his own book (not to mention a little shaking up!). But as it happens, the storyline I devised for Quigg necessitated that he still be a regular detective, which meant that chronologically, his story had to come before Saving Grace. Thus Guarding Suzannah became Book 1 of the series.

2)      What’s next for you?

Well, I recently sold a romantic suspense with paranormal elements (Lauren’s Eyes) to Montlake, Amazon’s romance imprint, so I am hoping I can continue writing in that vein for them. Right now, I’m working on a proposal or two to send off to my agent. Of course, I’m also working on getting some of my ebooks into print, writing the Dix Dodd funny mystery series with my writing partner, Heather Doherty (under the pseudonym N.L. Wilson), and also gearing up to write another project with Heather, possibly another YA under the Wilson Doherty pseudonym, or potentially a fantasy. Yes, I like changing it up! Keeps everything fresh.

3)   Hey, I’m with you! But your list makes me tired!  When you’re procrastinating, what do you do?

One word. Twitter.

4)    I am right there with you. It’s been a book budget killer for me.  How many books in your TBR pile?

Oh, wow. Too many! I would KILL for more reading time. I have about ten physical books in my TBR pile, and another shocking 90 or so on my Kindle.

5)   Trish and I are not shocked. 90. We laugh at your 90! When you’re not reading, what’s your biggest guilty pleasure?

Sneaking off to take in a movie by myself. There’s nothing more glorious! Because I have so many demands on my time, so many responsibilities and relationships to manage, it really feels like I’m playing hooky. Not that I don’t also take in movies with my family or my writing partner, but sometimes I want it to be just between me and Daniel Craig … er, I mean, me and the screen.

6)      You know, I’ve done that like twice. I wish I’d done it for The Immortals, so I could have happily drooled over Henry Cavill. Speaking of Henry, name 3 of your favorite things.

Rambling through woods trails with my dog, Chloe. It’s good for the soul.

Getting into the zone when I’m writing. You know, when the characters take over and the words flow, and when you finally look up, hours have passed.

Great TV! I know we share some of the same tastes in TV. Justified, for example. Mmmm. Also Friday Night Lights – that’s one show I wouldn’t have tried if you hadn’t raved about it, and it turned out to be one of the best series I’ve ever watched, though I would still put it behind The Wire and The Shield. Actually, I take most of my recommendations for TV shows from writer friends, because writers understand story. I’m sure it was Trish Milburn’s comments that turned me on to Firefly and Veronica Mars, two fabulous shows. Lina Gardiner gave me a gentle push towards Dexter. BTW, M.J., I’m paying attention to your analysis of this year’s crop, but holding off to see if they survive. I hate falling in love with a show only to have it cancelled.

7)      Where can readers find you?

They can visit my website at http://norahwilsonwrites.com.

Follow me on Twitter at: http://twitter.com/norah_wilson

Friend me on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1053773212

 

Thanks for having me, M.J. This was fun!

Thanks for being here! Please y’all, comment for a chance to win her book Guarding Suzannah, one of my favorite books of 2011!

 

 

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Phinney
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 07:30:54

    Thank you Norah, for the great interview, and to MJ for hosting her. Like Norah, I would kill for more reading time!

    Reply

  2. Alicia Street
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 08:49:01

    Fun interview! I’m just getting to know other IRInk authors and this gives me more insight into you and your books, Norah. And ditto on the TBR Kindle queue.

    Reply

  3. Leslie Garcia
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 10:33:01

    Fun interview. And informative–I obviously don’t research enough, because while I have an Indie book out–I didn’t know Amazon had an actual publishing program! Thanks and continuted success, Norah! (And I’m envious of those who have woods to stroll through!)

    Leslie P Garcia

    Reply

  4. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 10:45:56

    MJ, laughing at my 90-book TBR pile, huh? Dare I ask how big yours is? 🙂
    Barbara, thank you so much for stopping by!
    Thank you, too, Alicia! That’s been a real blessing of doing the indie author thing. I’ve met so many truly wonderful, fascinating people. And the pooled talent at IRI is mind-boggling!

    Reply

  5. Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 11:02:26

    Thanks, Leslie! Yes, Amazon has a number of traditional publishing imprints. Montlake is the romance one, but they have sci-fi/fantasy/horror (47North), mystery/thrillers (Thomas & Mercer), and are in the process of establishing themselves in children’s lit with the purchase of 450 titles from Marshall Cavendish. They even have a program for great books that didn’t find a big audience the first time around (Encore) and a line that brings foreign language books to English (AmazonCrossing).
    As for my woods, I fear it’s slated for development. Breaks my heart.
    Again, thanks for dropping by, and best of luck with your indie book!

    Reply

  6. Bev Pettersen
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 11:48:36

    You’re one busy lady, Norah, and always an inspiration. Really cuts into time when you get hooked on a tv series too. I loved Friday Night Lights so much, I bought all the seasons. Best wishes for 2012.

    Reply

    • Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
      Dec 28, 2011 @ 12:14:02

      It sure does bite into my time! I tend to save up episodes and watch a bunch in quick succession when the decks are cleared. Works for me, but I have to dodge spoilers. 🙂
      Thank you for the good wishes, and the same to you. Your Jockeys and Jewels is one of those books on my Kindle!

      Reply

  7. Loucinda McGary aka Aunty Cindy
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 14:11:38

    Thanks for the FUN interview MJ and Norah!

    Hey, I used to have a dog named Chloe! She was a lil black devil-dog. 😉 I’ll bet yours is adorable too… goes with the name.

    CONGRATS on your contract with Montlake. As a romantic suspense writer myself, I love to see different publishers investing in the sub-genre.

    Here’s to a FANTASTIC 2012 to all of us!

    AC

    Reply

    • Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
      Dec 28, 2011 @ 19:12:03

      Thanks for coming by, Loucinda! And yes, my Chloe is a black devil dog, but a big one (Rotti-Lab X). She probably looks pretty scary, but she’s been chased by a Pomeranian. I’m sure she’d abandon me if we encountered a bear out there. LOL. Very concerned about her own safety and security, that one. 🙂

      And I’ll drink to a fantastic 2012 for all of us!

      Reply

  8. Kate Kelly
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 16:42:24

    I have to start taking notes on what to watch on TV. Thanks for the suggestions. Although I have no idea where you find time to watch. Nice interview.

    Reply

  9. Linda Andrews
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 17:42:23

    I loved firefly and miss it terribly. And I rarely watch a new show until I know it’s been renewed. How do you manage to write with a parnter and by yourself?

    Reply

    • Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
      Dec 28, 2011 @ 19:20:42

      Thanks for coming by, Linda!! And yes, my heart mourns Firefly. And Dollhouse. And Terriers. And countless other shows that get cancelled after 1 season. These days, I take notes on what MJ likes, then wait to see if it’s going to be renewed. I can always buy the first season on DVD and catch up. ,-)

      As for the writing, the stuff I do with a partner goes much faster. On my own, I’m pretty slow. Maybe it’s the accountability of having a partner. Or maybe it’s just having a partner who has such a good sense about what needs to happen next. Plotting with her is a pleasure, and we complement each other very well, each bringing our own strengths to the table. And I’m the LAST person I ever would have envisioned as working successfully with another writer. With my solo stuff, I tend to keep it shrouded until I’m done. Very different processes!

      Reply

  10. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 00:22:33

    Great interview MJ and Norah! I haven’t seen any of those t.v. shows that you mentioned except for Dexter. I need to get busy.

    I can’t believe how busy you are Norah! Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  11. theresaraganTheresa Ragan
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 00:25:24

    One more thing…Norah, congratulations on being mentioned on the USA today HEA blog. Two of your books were mentioned by readers, I believe. Yay!

    http://books.usatoday.com/happyeverafter/post/2011-12-27/romance-authors-choose-their-favorite-books-of-2011/592747/1

    Reply

    • Norah Wilson (@norah_wilson)
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 11:27:17

      Theresa! Thanks for mentioning the mention! LOL. Yes, that was very cool. Not only did Pamela Clare mention my RS Guarding Suzannah, but Lina Gardiner, a PRISM and Daphne du Maurier award winning author mentioned my Wilson Doheryt YA, Ashlyn’s Radio. When I saw the Ashlyn cover up there, I almost fell off my chair!

      Reply

  12. Maureen Fisher
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 09:59:02

    You are an inspiration, Norah. Your post made me want to get my butt into the chair and get moving on my next book.

    Reply

  13. Gayle Cochrane (@GayleCochrane)
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 22:26:32

    “Trish and I are not shocked. 90. We laugh at your 90! ” Well, that made me feel better as my TBR on kindle keeps growing. Like the sound of your books, so I guess there is room for two or three more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

