My Top Ten Movies of the Year

I realized as I composed this list that I only saw two movies in the theater this year–Beastly and Harry Potter. Wow. And I only bought about half a dozen DVDs, including Harry Potter, Inception, Christmas Vacation and Elf. But I stuck with Netflix and when everyone else left, I got new releases much sooner.

So, my top ten movies:

10) Unstoppable, the runaway train movie with Denzel and Chris Pine. Really good action movie, different, very edge-of-the-seat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9) Insidious–creepy creepy movie, good cast, great little kid actor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8) Despicable Me–such a fun movie about an unlikely hero. LOVED when he had to take care of the little kids. TOO funny. I think I may need to buy this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7) True Grit–loved the original, but Jeff Bridges did a good job recreating the role, and the little actress was incredible.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6) No Strings Attached–a terrific romantic comedy about two emotionally unavailable people. It would make a perfect Blaze novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5) King’s Speech–great performances all around, about a period of history I didn’t know much about.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next three are pretty much tied for second.

4) Tangled–I cannot say how much I love this movie, and it is wrong wrong wrong to have a crush on a cartoon hero, but he was the perfect rogue. Perfect. And the black moment–OMG!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3) Friends with Benefits–same premise as No Strings Attached, but I liked Mila Kunis’s character so much better than Natalie Portman’s. The relationship and banter was hysterical. You must see it! Not with the family, though 😉 Another one I’ll buy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) Soul Surfer–I thought it would be a sappy movie, but it was really–real. One of my students suggested it and I watched it because he’d loved it. A great movie for the whole family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1) Harry Potter of course! I almost bought myself a Team Neville shirt for Christmas. What were your favorites this year?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kris
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 07:17:15

    Flynn Rider for the WIN!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Leslie P Garcia
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 09:55:39

    Love your list. Loved Harry Potter, Despicable Me, heard the buz but haven’t seen the others yet. The next movie I have to see? Altogether now–War Horse.

    Reply

  3. Marianne Arkins
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 20:20:54

    Hmmm… only movies I’ve seen in the theater were Thor, Captain America and The Three Musketeers. I loved Soul Surfer, too — great family flick. Tangled was adorable! Clearly I need to see more grown up movies, though …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

