My Top Ten Books of the Year

So, to be fair in my selection of top ten books of the year, I was going to exclude books by friends, because invariably I’ll leave someone out and her feelings might get hurt. But I read some really good friend books this year and it’s not fair to exclude them! Also, I have a LOT of books I haven’t read yet. Y’all, my Nook is PACKED. I think I have around 800 books on there. Some are read because I don’t know how to remove them, but not that many.

I read 72 books so far this year, according to Goodreads, which is how I keep track. A definite improvement over last year, though I didn’t write as much this year.

So, without further ado, here’s my top ten list of books I read this year.

1) The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook. OMG OMG OMG OMG. Hands-down favorite. I want the new one, but it’s $10 for e-book, and I don’t see myself having time for that this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) Yours to Keep/Undeniably Yours by Shannon Stacey. I love love love Kevin from Undeniably Yours and had doubts that Sean could compare, but the tension in Yours to Keep was off the charts. Rworr! (They changed the cover on Undeniably Yours! That’s not what Kevin looks like AT ALL!)

3) Abducted by TR Ragan. Yes, she’s a friend, but this romantic suspense kept me clicking and clicking and clicking!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4) Take No Prisoners by Cindy Gerard. Wonderful romantic suspense, tormented hero, spunky heroine, just the way I like them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5) Coin Operated by Ginny Glass. Smoking hot book. I cannot recommend it enough, if you like spicy books.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6) Red’s Hot Honky Tonk Bar by Pamela Morsi. It had such a delicious flavor of San Antonio. It’s a few years old but once I read it, I passed it on, and even bought a copy for my stepmom to read on her iPad.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7) Abandon the Night by Joss Ware. Another friend, post-apoc romance. Very suspensey, too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8) Stranded with her Ex by Jill Sorensen. I love reunion romances, I love unique settings. Nothing more unique than a science station on an isolated island where they study sharks! Woot!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9) Guarding Suzannah by Norah Wilson. Bodyguard hero, saucy heroine in danger–what’s not to love? I have the other books in the series, but I need more time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10) Living in Color by Trish Milburn. This may be my favorite of Trish’s books to date. And I’m giving away a copy this week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What were your favorite reads this year?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. norahwilson
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:44:41

    Oh, wow, MJ! Guarding Suzannah made your list? I’m so honored!
    And you know that you would be on ANY list that I produced. I’ve been such a fan girl from the very beginning, particularly of your romantic suspense / action-adventure stuff.
    Oh, and by the way, you just gave me some more titles to hunt down. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

