This Day Brought to You by the Letters W, T and H

So the day started with me running out of Diet Coke. I stoped to buy some on the way to work, saw a gorgeous sunrise…and the day went downhill from there.

Yesterday I was a hall monitor during testing, and bored out of my skull. We can’t read or have a notebook but one of the teachers asked why I didn’t bring my crochet. D’oh!

So today I brought my crochet…and was pulled to test a third grade class–the teacher’s daughter was sick and she had to take the day at the last minute. Okay, so no two days have been the same this week, but I can deal. They’re good kids.

I’m walking around monitoring the test and I look down at my boots. I’ve had them awhile, haven’t worn them in awhile, but I didn’t want to wear tennis shoes with dress pants. The boots were disintegrating!!! It was the weirdest thing. This is how they looked by lunch. They’d been danged near perfect (a little dusty) when I put them on, and I was feeling guilty about never wearing them.

THEN I was going upstairs to eat my lunch so I could check email. I tripped on a step, stumbled, and smacked my lunch into another step as I caught myself. When I got to my room, I tried to pull out the Diet Coke and it was stuck. It had been pierced by my pudding cup! (Yes, I have the palette of an eight-year-old)

So I get through the day, which wasn’t bad, class-wise. It’s fun to teach around the holidays–lots to do. And they’re good kids. But I’m ready to go home, have a drink…

It’s a gorgeous day, so I go out to water my plants, and uncover the plants I’d protected against the freeze. AND I STEP ON A RUSTY NAIL. The damned thing went through the half-inch sole of my boot, and went at an angle, but pretty solidly into the bottom of my foot. Hurts like OMG. I called Fred (because he was the one who left it out there, supposed to be fixing my ice chest for the past six months) and then soaked it in Epsom salt and took some Alleve and have slathered it in Neosporin. (I had a tetanus shot last year when I burned my hand.) I’m on the couch and watching Conan the Barbarian and drinking wine. I’M NOT MOVING! The boy is bringing dinner, and I’m glad I did my shopping yesterday. But how can I dance in my kick-ass shoes at tomorrow’s Christmas party?? (Though if not for the party, I’d play hooky tomorrow!)

Is it me, or is that all just freaky stuff to happen, much less to happen in one day?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. StacyB
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 19:58:37

    Dude. The boots are possessed. Send them to Sam and Dean to be salted, burned, and buried.

    RIP, soleless fiends.

    Reply

    • mjfredrick
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 20:26:29

      Stacy!! I never thought about it but you’re right–it’s all boot-related! Ack!

      Doris, thank you! I really hope it gets better–I’m looking forward to our party tomorrow and I want to dance!!!

      Reply

  2. Doris Jennings (@Dshewoolf)
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 20:24:41

    WOW That is one heck of a rough day!! may the rest of the week go much smoother!

    Reply

  3. Gayle Cochrane
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 21:09:03

    I’ve never seen anything like the can impaled by the pudding . You can use it in your next romantic suspense. Intrepid heroine cuts through handcuffs with edge of pudding cup.That could be a poster. Glad you had a tetanus shot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

